My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
It was great ~ the only thing I did differently was to add beef broth so the meat would have something to simmer in. I let the broth "cook down" ... yummy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDEEJOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I tried this out today and it was very bland. The steaks had absolutely no flavor and it was just generally bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Follett, Texas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is really a very good basic recipe, however, it needs to be seasoned. I also used beef broth with this dish and thickend at the end. With these changes, we enjoyed it Janne2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Good base recipe. I floured and seasoned my steaks first and then pounded them down. Then I browned my steaks in half butter/half oil mixture before returning vegtables and added a can of tomato soup. Really tasty, I will keep this recipe and keep trying variations. (Wish I would have made mashed potatoes with this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Excellent easy to prepare and I use a pressure cooker to cook. I added a little wine and a little beef stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was fairly tender, but was very bland. I did season the meat with seasoning salt & garlic powder but that didn't really help. My family ate it all up, but if I tried making this again, then I would try the beef broth, or something to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is so easy. I seasoned and floured and lightly browned the meat first. Since the flour acted as a thickening agent I skipped the cornstarch. Instead of water, I added beef broth and instead of canned tomatoes, I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this withouth the optional gravy and thought it was fabulous! It is now part of our regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is fabulous! I made a couple of changes.... used beef broth and added it during the cooking time. Also, I added several cloves of garlic with the onions and the canned tomatoes that I used were already seasoned with garlic, basil, and oregano. My husband and I both loved it (AND I DON'T EAT BEEF "OOPS")! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States