My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Personally...I love this recipe. It's one of those "comfort" type food's I remember my mother and grandmother serving. This dish take's little in the way of effort, but taste's like you were at the stove all day. And most importantly....my husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I only rate the recipes I really like or really don't like, and I liked this very much. I pretty much followed it as written, except I sliced the veggies instead of dicing them. Served with mashed potatoes - very yummy. This reminded me a lot of the swiss steak my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very, very good. Meat was tender enough to cut with a fork, and sauce had wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Feigenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Im a new member and this was the first recipe I tried. LOVED it. quick & easy. After a summer of bbq steaks this was a nice change into fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Good one pot dish, great flavor. To cut the cook time, I sliced the steak before cooking it. I also added the extra water while the steak was simmering since I like the extra sauce. If I didn't add the water, the meat would've burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Even my 4 and 8 yr old boys loved it!I did make some changes based on other reviewers though. I coated the round steaks with flour seasoned with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper and italian seasoning then browned it on both sides and just added 1/8 cup each chopped red, yellow and green pepper, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 onion cut in rings, 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can mushrooms drained, and 1 cup beef broth-covered it and let simmer for an hour-then served it over brown rice. It was a little watery, I probably should have only used 1/2 cup broth but the meat was tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
good base recipe... I followed the advise of some reviews, and added about 1/2 cup of beef broth, 4 cloves of garlic, red pepper, green pepper, two chopped fresh tomatoes, and served over mashed tater... good stuff; husband loved! BTW- I didn't need to cook for 1&1/2 hours, just simmering for 35-45 mins did just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reciprocipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My husband liked this more than I did. The flavor was really good but the steaks turned out dry. It may have been my fault - I did add the beef stock before cooking as suggested by another reviewer. I'll try this again (because DH wants me to) but I'm going to put it in the crock pot and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the recipe - it was a nice change from our usual grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have many, many recipes for swiss steak and this is simply the best. Didn't have fresh mushrooms tonight so I threw in some canned. The steak was tender and I loved the thickened sauce. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good - made a couple of changes due to what I had on hand and reviews. Used cube steak (dredged in flour before browning) and added garlic with the onions. Also added a can of beef broth with the other veggies as there was not enough liquid for the long cooking time. I thickened the gravy at the end and it was great with the steak as well as on top of mashed potatoes. Quick and easy - will definately make again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States