My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
good base recipe... I followed the advise of some reviews, and added about 1/2 cup of beef broth, 4 cloves of garlic, red pepper, green pepper, two chopped fresh tomatoes, and served over mashed tater... good stuff; husband loved! BTW- I didn't need to cook for 1&1/2 hours, just simmering for 35-45 mins did just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reciprocipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My husband liked this more than I did. The flavor was really good but the steaks turned out dry. It may have been my fault - I did add the beef stock before cooking as suggested by another reviewer. I'll try this again (because DH wants me to) but I'm going to put it in the crock pot and see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the recipe - it was a nice change from our usual grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have many, many recipes for swiss steak and this is simply the best. Didn't have fresh mushrooms tonight so I threw in some canned. The steak was tender and I loved the thickened sauce. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good - made a couple of changes due to what I had on hand and reviews. Used cube steak (dredged in flour before browning) and added garlic with the onions. Also added a can of beef broth with the other veggies as there was not enough liquid for the long cooking time. I thickened the gravy at the end and it was great with the steak as well as on top of mashed potatoes. Quick and easy - will definately make again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is a great for the weekends to do just what you do with your skillet but with a crockpot so that you can let it take care of it's self while your busy doing cleaning or while at church. What a great meal to have at the end of the day with so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I took the advise of others and added garlic to the onion and 1 can beef broth to the pot. WOW!!! Phenominal dish. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe is great! I seasoned, floured and browned the meat first. I did not have green pepper or mushrooms but I did have a red pepper. I used diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano (frum Hunts). Came out very tasty, can't wait to try it with the mushrooms - great basic recipe room for personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Simple but good. I didn't add water as I had enough liquid from the (not drained) tomato juices to make a nice sauce, which I did thicken a bit w/ cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I ended up adding a teaspoon of 'Better Than Boullion' (Beef flavored) and some minced garlic to add just a bit more flavor. The 'Better Than Boullion' brand of 'boullion' is the very best I have found for flavoring. It is more like a paste found in about a 3/4 ths cup jar with a black screw lid. A little more expensive but I certainly feel I get my money's worth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We just finished dinner and this dish is fabulous! It tasted so much like the Swiss Steak my mother used to make. The only thing I did different was - I did not use the mushrooms (mom did not put mushrooms in hers when I had it as a child); I used a mixture of green, red and yellow bell peppers, and fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. I also sprinkled salt and pepper on the meat before it cooked, and then some on the vegetables before I added them to the pot. I served this with mashed potatoes and I smothered the meat and the potatoes with the gravy (which I did thicken some). Yummy! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States