My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Used beef broth instead of water, added some minced garlic, and browned the steak (in flour and spices) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Since canned diced tomatoes have no flavor, IMO, I replaced them with two cups crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I also omitted the oregano since I didn't want an "Italian" taste (that's not traditional for Swiss Steak). I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire to the sauce while it cooked instead. Had no celery on hand so I seasoned the steaks well with celery salt and black pepper before browning them, as well as adding a bit of salt and pepper to taste while this cooked. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The good? The steaks got very tender, fork tender, in fact. The sauce and vegetables were really good too. The "meh", however, was that the steaks were quite flavorless. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I lightly floured the steaks before browning them, after a light application of salt and pepper. My husband was underwhelmed, sad to say, and so was I, after such a long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very very good! I do the same recipe with a pot roast and it is always tender. I add a tablespoon of sugar and white vinegar to the mix and serve with piping hot mashed potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful oldfashioned Swiss Steak!! Gave it 4 stars because I did add a can of beef broth, browned the floured steak in EVO,in my Dutch oven, then added everything else and baked at 275 for about 3 hours--perfect!!! Did not have to thicken further. Served over mashed potatoes, and then made the whole thing into a Shepherd's Pie for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great recipe -truly just like mom used to make! My husband loved it. I even made it for my mom and dad - they both thought it was just as good as mom's - and hers is pretty terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this and loved it. I did not change a thing except I had frozen peppers and they worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I actually used this recipe as inspiration to clean out the fridge! Had cooked strip steak & grilled mushrooms leftover, as well as parts of onions & bell pepper, & even a small amount of homemade marinara which I used in place of the canned diced tomatoes. Served it over leftover pasta but I could definitely see it over mashed potatoes or rice also. Very good & flavorful comfort food. And as an added bonus I have a clean fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
my mother in law made this when I was still dating my husband. I'm so glad I found this recipe. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States