My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by steve
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Turned out great, added some peppers, onions, and some peppercorn and olive oil tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tom likes it. Left over sauce can be used for Chicken Spaghetti.... or to cook chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I followed a reviewers suggestion and used some beef broth so it would have enough moisture to cook. Turns out that was way too much. Next time I think I will only use a quarter cup. I do love the taste I must say. It's been more than 20 years since I've had Swiss steak and this is a great recipe to follow. Also, I had some boxed "potatoes al gratin" that needed to be cooked so that was the side. Hope Mike likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Simple meal! Definitely agree it needs major flavor! We added lots of garlic and salt to get it with some decent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'd like to try this recipe but hubby isn't allowed tomatoes. Has anyone tried it with mushroom soup and onions as a base?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this for hubby and kids this wknd. I started with the recipe as written. Even after adding countless spices and a can of Chiles it was so bland I ended up scraping off the tomato mixture and making home made gravy to salvage the leftovers. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe. Just like my mother made. Remembering that mom's recipe was plain, I followed suggestions from other reviews. Used what I had,Italian style diced tomatoes (Hunts), canned mushrooms, 1\2 c beef broth and Italian seasoning. Simmered for 70 minutes. Served over brown rice. Husband loved it! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We had this for dinner tonight. It came out just great! Like a lot of the other reviewers, I dredged the meat in flour first, added seasonings and fresh garlic. I also doubled the recipe and added one cup of beef broth. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Sauce was very tasty but the meat was not very flavorful even after following many of the tips from other reviewers. I seasoned the meat before flouring and browning, added lots of garlic, other seasonings before cooking and it was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Boychuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Used beef broth instead of water, added some minced garlic, and browned the steak (in flour and spices) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States