My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Used beef broth instead of water, added some minced garlic, and browned the steak (in flour and spices) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Since canned diced tomatoes have no flavor, IMO, I replaced them with two cups crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I also omitted the oregano since I didn't want an "Italian" taste (that's not traditional for Swiss Steak). I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire to the sauce while it cooked instead. Had no celery on hand so I seasoned the steaks well with celery salt and black pepper before browning them, as well as adding a bit of salt and pepper to taste while this cooked. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The good? The steaks got very tender, fork tender, in fact. The sauce and vegetables were really good too. The "meh", however, was that the steaks were quite flavorless. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I lightly floured the steaks before browning them, after a light application of salt and pepper. My husband was underwhelmed, sad to say, and so was I, after such a long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very very good! I do the same recipe with a pot roast and it is always tender. I add a tablespoon of sugar and white vinegar to the mix and serve with piping hot mashed potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful oldfashioned Swiss Steak!! Gave it 4 stars because I did add a can of beef broth, browned the floured steak in EVO,in my Dutch oven, then added everything else and baked at 275 for about 3 hours--perfect!!! Did not have to thicken further. Served over mashed potatoes, and then made the whole thing into a Shepherd's Pie for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great recipe -truly just like mom used to make! My husband loved it. I even made it for my mom and dad - they both thought it was just as good as mom's - and hers is pretty terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this and loved it. I did not change a thing except I had frozen peppers and they worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I actually used this recipe as inspiration to clean out the fridge! Had cooked strip steak & grilled mushrooms leftover, as well as parts of onions & bell pepper, & even a small amount of homemade marinara which I used in place of the canned diced tomatoes. Served it over leftover pasta but I could definitely see it over mashed potatoes or rice also. Very good & flavorful comfort food. And as an added bonus I have a clean fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
my mother in law made this when I was still dating my husband. I'm so glad I found this recipe. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States