My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
very good. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a simple and well balanced dish. My family relly enjoys it. It freezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I just finished making this recipe and it was very good. I did not have any celery and I used 4 cup-a-soup packets, (I did not have the regular size). I also was short on time so I just sauteed the sausage, bell pepper, onion, and almonds on top of the stove. I cooked them until they were good and done and the moisture had evaporated. I drained off the fat, added the rice, soup mix and the water, covered the pot and simmered about 40 minutes. I stirred it every now and then and near the end I just let it sit so the bottom got nice and brown (I used a teflon pot). I don't see why I can't just use chicken flavored Rice-a-Roni next time instead of the soup mix and rice. It was a very flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Excellent. Added an extra package of the dry chix noodle soup mix. Very good and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. The quantity was skimpy for a family dinner so I bumped up the rice to 1 1/4 cups, water to 5 cups and 2 envelopes soup mix....plenty for a hungry family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This recipe surprised me it was better than I thought it would be, and everyone else liked it also. The only thing I would do different next time is add some extra broth and a full cup of rice. I would also mix some almonds in addition to the topping and maybe try a spicier sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was really good although like another reviewer I think adding chicken flavored rice a roni would give the same effect. Any sausage would work well in this dish. I also found the cooking temperature was a little high so I did a 350 oven and only cooked for an hour which was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Super Easy and Yummy. The blahness comes from store-bought sausage...I had some great fresh ground pork, doubled it, the rice and the soup mix..boiled for a while and baked for about 25 mins. Put cheese on top instead of almonds...super good. Much like Sausage Stuffed Peppers, without the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My Mom made this for me when I was little, but I didn't have the recipe. Thank you so much for posting it, now my kids love it too! This is a great recipe for any season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thank you for this recipe. I was very upset when I could not find it. I have lost so many recipes in my last three moves. My boys really liked this casserole when they were growing up. It is such a nice change from the usual casserole dishes. My daughter in law does not care for green peppers but likes the red ones so I will try substituting them in the recipe. I can hardly wait to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States