My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My Mom made this for me when I was little, but I didn't have the recipe. Thank you so much for posting it, now my kids love it too! This is a great recipe for any season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Super Easy and Yummy. The blahness comes from store-bought sausage...I had some great fresh ground pork, doubled it, the rice and the soup mix..boiled for a while and baked for about 25 mins. Put cheese on top instead of almonds...super good. Much like Sausage Stuffed Peppers, without the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My family and I did not care for this recipe. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My mamaw used to make this for me all the time growing up. It was one of my favorite meals, and I am so happy to have it now. This recipe is five stars with changes, four stars without. First and foremost, for adult tastes, this is far better with hot sausage. Also, once you have all your ingredients together on the stovetop, bring it to a boil and continue boiling for about three minutes, stirring frequently. This reduces the baking time. Next, pour everything into a 9x13 pan and bake uncovered on 350 for about 30 minutes. My rice was tender, and all the liquid was absorbed after 30 minutes at 350. If there are any leftovers, you'll find that this casserole is even better the second day! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was really good although like another reviewer I think adding chicken flavored rice a roni would give the same effect. Any sausage would work well in this dish. I also found the cooking temperature was a little high so I did a 350 oven and only cooked for an hour which was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made a short cut to this recipe because I did not have the 2 hrs for baking that it called for. I cooked the rice in the rice cooker, then put the rice in my pan of sausage, noodle mix,etc, mixed it all up, and poured it into a casserole dish and baked for 1 hour. The casserole turned out nice and moist, but, rather tasteless...at least for OUR Cajun mouths. My family asked me specifically NEVER to cook this again. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I have this recipe but its called St Paul's Rice and its an excellent dish to bring to potlucks. I use 2 packs of the dry soup mix for more flavor and bake in a 9 by 13 pan covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
this was okay, was lacking something probaby won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyne todd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This recipe surprised me it was better than I thought it would be, and everyone else liked it also. The only thing I would do different next time is add some extra broth and a full cup of rice. I would also mix some almonds in addition to the topping and maybe try a spicier sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
very good. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States