My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is almost the same as the one my mom used to make, but she also had chicken in her's. I followed your recipe exactly but then added 2 tsp curry powder like my mom's recipe. WOW!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was really easy to prepare, and soooooo good! I did use two packets of soup mix as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Rauchle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Made this last night - it was delicious! I followed some of the other suggestions (especially the one about adding the rice and letting it boil before baking to cut down on cook time - excellent!) I used Mild Italian sausage and it gave the whole thing this wonderfully spicy (yet not too much) kick to it that we found irresistible. I also added carrots into the veggie mix to add a bit of color. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
My husband and kids loved this!!I left out the celery and almonds and added a can of Rotel! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I started making this recipe and then realized I was out of chicken noodle soup mix, so I used onion soup mix instead -- it was still really yummy! I added corn since I didn't have any peppers on hand either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is one of my family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
What a wonderful surprise! I am so diggin this recipe. My whole family liked this one alot! Next time I am doubling the recipe so there can be leftovers. Thank you (and your mom) for a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thank you for this recipe. I was very upset when I could not find it. I have lost so many recipes in my last three moves. My boys really liked this casserole when they were growing up. It is such a nice change from the usual casserole dishes. My daughter in law does not care for green peppers but likes the red ones so I will try substituting them in the recipe. I can hardly wait to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. The quantity was skimpy for a family dinner so I bumped up the rice to 1 1/4 cups, water to 5 cups and 2 envelopes soup mix....plenty for a hungry family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was OK. Not something I would say, "Hey guys want that sausage casserole tonight?" For me to give 5 stars I have to think. Wow when can I make this again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States