My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I just finished making this recipe and it was very good. I did not have any celery and I used 4 cup-a-soup packets, (I did not have the regular size). I also was short on time so I just sauteed the sausage, bell pepper, onion, and almonds on top of the stove. I cooked them until they were good and done and the moisture had evaporated. I drained off the fat, added the rice, soup mix and the water, covered the pot and simmered about 40 minutes. I stirred it every now and then and near the end I just let it sit so the bottom got nice and brown (I used a teflon pot). I don't see why I can't just use chicken flavored Rice-a-Roni next time instead of the soup mix and rice. It was a very flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I have this recipe but its called St Paul's Rice and its an excellent dish to bring to potlucks. I use 2 packs of the dry soup mix for more flavor and bake in a 9 by 13 pan covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My mamaw used to make this for me all the time growing up. It was one of my favorite meals, and I am so happy to have it now. This recipe is five stars with changes, four stars without. First and foremost, for adult tastes, this is far better with hot sausage. Also, once you have all your ingredients together on the stovetop, bring it to a boil and continue boiling for about three minutes, stirring frequently. This reduces the baking time. Next, pour everything into a 9x13 pan and bake uncovered on 350 for about 30 minutes. My rice was tender, and all the liquid was absorbed after 30 minutes at 350. If there are any leftovers, you'll find that this casserole is even better the second day! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Excellent. Added an extra package of the dry chix noodle soup mix. Very good and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. The quantity was skimpy for a family dinner so I bumped up the rice to 1 1/4 cups, water to 5 cups and 2 envelopes soup mix....plenty for a hungry family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made a short cut to this recipe because I did not have the 2 hrs for baking that it called for. I cooked the rice in the rice cooker, then put the rice in my pan of sausage, noodle mix,etc, mixed it all up, and poured it into a casserole dish and baked for 1 hour. The casserole turned out nice and moist, but, rather tasteless...at least for OUR Cajun mouths. My family asked me specifically NEVER to cook this again. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a simple and well balanced dish. My family relly enjoys it. It freezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
What a wonderful surprise! I am so diggin this recipe. My whole family liked this one alot! Next time I am doubling the recipe so there can be leftovers. Thank you (and your mom) for a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I'am delighted to find this recipe. I had it 25yrs ago, but misplaced it. I tried it again last night & its better than ever..Truly, A Southern Delight!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is almost the same as the one my mom used to make, but she also had chicken in her's. I followed your recipe exactly but then added 2 tsp curry powder like my mom's recipe. WOW!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States