My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The flavors were good but it was too mushy for our taste. The almonds helped and I added cheese for the last 20 minutes. Making my own turkey sausage eliminated the "too salty" issue. I may try it again replacing the bell pepper with frozen mixed vegetables. Spices for making turkey sausage are poultry seasoning, allspice, paprika and fennel seed, salt & pepper if desired. Use ground turkey breast for sausage flavor, no salt, no fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snowmass Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I used turkey sausage instead of pork and cashews instead of almonds. It had a great flavor and was easy to make. The only reason I'm not giving it five stars is because it's silly to make it in the oven when you can cook the whole thing much quicker on the stove top without dirtying another dish. Also, I sprinkled the nuts on last instead of cooking them with the dish and letting them get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This recipe was good but I only had to cook mine for 60 minutes in a covered casserole dish and it was done. I added more celery than called for because I had to use it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The chicken soup mix is too salty for us. I omitted that and instead used plain water with some ground pepper and oregano. Still gives the rice some flavour. I added spices to the sausage mixture instead. I used Pineapple Curry sausage, and this tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My Mom used to make this also. Fond memories from my childhood. Very good, however won't make it that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate8
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I call this "Octopus's Garden" and serve it as a kid's dish. Slice half of each sausage lengthwise into 8 strips, and allow these to poke out of the top while cooking. They'll curl into tentacles! (See photo #3)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Okay, prepared as directed except for adding a bit more onion and celery,only took 65 or so minutes to cook or would have been dried out. Don't know why I didn't have to drain my sausage as it wasn't particularly greasy. And the almonds were starting to look a little dark and it was kinda salty. Not a keeper, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
90 minutes was way too long. i had no almonds so 30 minutes before it was done i put cheese on top and it almost made it bearable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie Lynch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Wow, this stuff was awesome. I did put everything on the stove first to cut down on the baking time. i also used twice the rice the recipe called for. But i can't wait to make it again! Super! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was so salty my wife and I could not eat it. I never post on the site but I just had to this time. My wife said it was probably the soup mix since I did not add any salt. It is certainly possible that I did something wrong but I don't think so. Sorry to the chef but will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States