My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This recipe was simple, but time consuming. It was similar to chicken & sausage jambalaya which I could have made in half the time. I also prefer my meals to be a bit more seasoned - it wasn't bland, but it wasn't spicy either. I was suprised by the very smooth texture of the meal. I think this is what made my kids like it so much. This was good enough to have again, but it won't be something I have often. I try to cook 2 or 3 new recipes a month and this was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Well accepted at our table. Easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Great recipe! Even my picky kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This was good - family liked very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This recipe is easily converted to make it very quick to prepare, I use 1-2 tbs dry minced onion, substitute sliced waterchestnuts for the celery, add a small drained can of sliced mushrooms and eliminated the green peppers. The first time I made this it stuck to the pan so I greased the pan with shortening and used the browned sausage as the bottom layer, no more sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This was good and the sausage gave it the right amount of spice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
This receipe worked out really well. Does take a long time to cook, but worth it. Especially, when you have a bunch of men over watching College basketball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
I made this recipe with a turkey smoked sausage instead of the pork sausage. It turned out okay - my husband and I liked it, but not enough to make it again, I think. I think it just wasn't exactly our taste. My husband did like his with mustard...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
A real "last ingredients in the cupboard" recipe, that is laughably easy to prepare, and yet tastes great. I had to blink when I saw the chicken noodle soup, but it really does work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
Rather than putting the casserole in the oven for 90 minutes I mixed all the ingredients, covered the casserole with plastic wrap and put it in the microwave for 10 minutes on high, mixed it and put it in for another 10 minutes on high. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States