My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This was good, and I could see how it could be a side dish. As a main dish this feeds about 2 1/2 people. I also believe it needs more of everything - peppers, celery, and rice especially. I did not use the soup mix. Instead I subbed the soup mix and water with 1 can 50% less sodium chick. broth, and that seemed to work well. Do not skip the almonds - they add a delicious roasted crunch. We will definitely eat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We would have liked to see more rice, but otherwise very tasty and a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was a little too high in sodium for our family. I would make it again with just half of the soup-mix suggested in the origenal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I have used a variation of this recipe for years. It is such a favorite no one ever wants me to bring anything else. Men love it!! If I am late people will wait until I get there with the "rice".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was a great mid-week meal. Having 6 boys and a hubby who all love to eat, this went fast! However, I punched up the servings to 12 but it wasn't enough. If feeding a big family, I would more than double the servings. As well, I substituted the package soup for chicken stock (or boullion). We generally eat a late supper so putting this on in a crock pot for the day would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I thought this was great! Easy and quick and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
With the wide variety of reviews, I was a little nervous trying this out. But it ended up a success, with my husband quite excited to eat the leftovers for lunch today. To save time, I went ahead and cooked everything in one skillet - first cooked the sausage with the vegetables, then threw in double the rest of the ingredients: rice, soup, and water. I let it simmer, covered, for thirty minutes, and it ended up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Average, at best. My 12 year old said it looked horrible. I found the 90 minute cook time to be excessive - we like our rice and pasta to be al dente, and this was one step above mush. If making it as a main dish, definitely double it - at our house, it served 3, and these were not generous portions. Also, a word of warning: choose the LEANEST POSSIBLE sausage. Even though I sauteed and drained it first, it was a very greasy dish. Overall, it was edible, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEP1974

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This one was pretty good...I changed a few things in it to suite my tastes but again another quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States