My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I have made this recipe multiple times and finally felt guilty that I hadn't written a review. I prefer it with country flavored pork sausage, more than say Italian sweet sausage...though the green peppers shine when using Italian sweet. I feel the original recipe is wonderful, but when I use the country pork sausage. I replace the green peppers with green beans (as I am not a big pepper fan) and add Herbs de Provence seasoning. It is perfect served with a goat cheese and beet salad as well as a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks Corrie for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
For a much quicker version, brown & crumble sausage in a large, deep sided frying pan. While sausage is cooking, cut veggies. I use Jimmy Dean regular or hot sausage and add waterchestnuts for a little more crunch, without changing the flavor. When sausage is browned and drained, remove from heat, add all other ingredients and stir. Cook according to rice directions, usually about 30 min, covered. So delicious, I always double the recipe. Just as good reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
When I was a kid, my mom let us choose whatever we wanted for dinner on our birthdays. I always chose sausage and rice casserole. I didn't get the recipe before my mother passed away. This is exactly like she used to make, except she did not put in green peppers (so I don't) and she did not put in the almonds, which is an addition I love, so I do. Thanks for bringing back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My mom fixes this dish and has for probably 50 years. My Aunt gave her the recipe. It is fantastic at get togethers. And to the person that said it was St Pauls Rice, I have heard it called Religious Rice Casserole, St Peters Rice and St Pauls Rice. It is all the same!!! Ummmmm Good!!!! I have two great broccoli recipes that I will try to add.... Gotta get working to fix something for a church get together tomorrow... God Bless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My family, including my grandsons, love this recipe..This is the first time I've made it quite sometime.. When I first made it, we had it so often I was afraid they'd get tired of it..It never happened,, Truly, one of our favorites...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I read the reviews and used their suggestions, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Sensational, but as one person suggested, not enough! Will increase portions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Stetson, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Awesome! I am giving it 4 stars, only because I made some changes. I used sage sausage, lots of minced garlic and diced red onion. I omitted the soup mix, using low sodium chicken broth instead and added my own spices. I used one bag each of white and brown boil-in-bag rice. Just opened the bags and mixed with the browned sausage, broth, and spices, and stirred in chopped sweetened cranberries. I baked it for 45 minutes and it was perfect. I took this to a very picky and traditional Thanksgiving audience. They were dipping into it before dinner even started. It was the hit dish! Thanks for sharing this recipe, which easily lends itself to chages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I was skeptical but this recipe is very good. I doubled the rice, celery and onion. Used 2.5 cups of water and added chopped water chestnuts. I cooked everything for 15 minutes on the stovetop and baked in the oven for 1 hour. I sprayed the baking dish with cooking spray. It came out perfectly. I did not think that I would like it as much as I did but I could not stop "tasting" when it came out of the oven. It's a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made this years ago and lost the recipe. I was so pleased to find it here. In the short time since I re-discovered the recipe it has become a favorite. Since I have a family member who cannot eat some of the ingredients in the soup mix I just used 2 cups of rice and 2 cups of water. I also made it once with turkey sausage but had to add more spice for flavor. Excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States