My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
If these don't rise for you like they should, either your yeast is bad or something else you are doing wrong. Please don't blame the recipe & rate it down because of your errors! Also, if the bread dough was super sweet like some are wanting, when you put the glaze on, it would be so sweet, you couldn't eat it. Try a store bought doughnut without icing. No difference. And just because you grew up in a bakery, doesn't mean YOU can bake. I grew up with my father as a rock mason, but I can't lay rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very tasty! My kids told me, "Mom, these are better than Dunkin'. Your the best cook in the whole wide world!" After a comment like that I will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! They do take time, but they are SO worth it! They are light and airy, with just a touch of crisp on the outside. They are bakery quality for sure! I made maple and chocolate glazes for them, and they are to die for! We will probably not get store donuts again! I fried them in mostly veggie oil with about a cup of shortening added in (something I saw on here somewhere). I don't know if it made a difference, but that's what I'll do from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Love these! For my first attempt I think I over-mixed the dough and ended up with donuts that were more cake-like (as stated in other reviews). I'm not a fan of the cake texture and really wanted a Dunkin-raised donut so when I was finished around 10 pm, I started again...this time mixing everything by hand (really don't need the mixer) and trying to mix as little as possible. For my do-over batch, I also used rapid rise yeast and did not sift the flour to speed things up. Also increased sugar to 1/3 to sweeten the dough. I let the dough rise in a slightly warm oven for about 50 min. (I tested a tip to pour 3-4 C of boiling water into a pan and leave it on the bottom of the oven to warm it perfectly...worked great!) I cut the dough into strips instead of donut rings to save time and eliminate scraps. (Re-rolling the scraps made tough donuts.) Then I left the dough on the counter under loosely draped plastic wrap for 45 min. Everything turned out perfect. Kids all said this morning that they taste like Dunkin! I second another reviewer's suggestion to use the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze found on this site. It's delicious...tastes like Dunkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious. Who needs Krispy Kreme with this recipe? To the poster who wrote that her's didn't rise properly. Depends on the yeast being fresh. All packets of yeast have expiration dates. Plus the temperature of the water. Temperature is not to be guessed at, but, instead the use of an instant read thermometer is crucial. Too hot and it kills the yeast. Not warm enough will never activate yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Perfecto! This is my third time trying recipes for doughnut - 1st epic fail, 2nd-average to almost fail, this time is so perfect.. I left the dough to raise in the fridge overnight and did the second proof as directed. I also used butter not shortening as I did not have one. It turned out very good. This is definitely a must try recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Great recipe! What I did was made them whole & when we cooled I put jam into icing bag, made a hole into the side right into the center & filled it. then dusted with icing sugar. I also filled them one day with whipped cream & then dipped in melted dark chocolate. The donut holes when they are still warm roll in cinnimion, sugar, melted chocolate. It's endless what you can fill them with or cover them with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is a very good donut recipe! I made just as directed with no changes. Instead of 24, this recipe yielded 14 donuts with holes for me - I used a 4 inch donut cutter (instead of 3 1/2 inch) and didn't re-roll any of the holes. The yield was fine since I made these "just because" I felt like donuts! The glaze recipe is perfect also and makes just the right amount so you don't have waste left over. Per my daughter's request we rolled the holes in cinnamon-sugar. I would not have had enough glaze to do them as well, so if you're making the holes glazed then perhaps double the amount called for. I've been making donuts for years and this will become one of my regular recipes. Thanks, Peggi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Wonderful..so easy, however I used my bread machine. I added a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These were nice doughnuts. I am not a huge sweet tooth but the kids all thought that these were amazing! The dough itself is not very sweet, and it's the glaze that really adds that finishing touch you're looking for. I found that the glaze recipe was a bit thick as called for, and didn't make quite enough for the whole batch - I ended up mixing a second (smaller) thinner batch to finish them off and it was perfect. Not sure if I'll make these again, as I'm not a fan of feeding my family Crisco, or frying anything for that matter. I had to actually borrow some to make these, but since it was for a special occasion, I suppose once in awhile won't kill ya. Maybe I will try subbing a different more natural fat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States