My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe was just OK. It tasted like fried dinner rolls to me, not the melt in your mouth kind of donuts from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Just tried this recipe today and absolutely loved it!!! The doughnuts turned out so delish and were so light and airy. The only thing that was a bummer for me was the glaze, after reading the reviews I doubled the recipe and thinned it out by adding more water to it; although next time I wont double the vanilla it seemed to overpower the doughnut. But I also made some whole doughnuts and rolled them in granulated sugar and filled them with raspberry jam and they were amazing!! Definitely a recipe I'm gonna keep in my repertoire! :D And note for those whose dough didn't turn out, usually for me when I under-knead the dough it will turn out just fine, as long as you don't over work the gluten in the flour and don't kill the yeast it will be able to create that light airy texture. And I like letting my dough's rise in the microwave so that way there is no draft and it will keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Fabulous recipe. Added a tablespoon of vanilla paste to the dough, but it didn't need it, the flavor is so good: would just add to the glaze next time. Substituted oat milk for the dairy milk and you'd never know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly. I didn't glaze them since we like them coated in powdered sugar. I'm sure I'll try them with glaze, filled with lemon filling or with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
O.M.G. This recipe is amazing. A recent episode of masterchef made donuts look approachable. They came out delicious, light, and DONUTS!! I don't own a nice stand mixer or deep fryer but was successful. Do buy a thermometer to watch the heat if frying in a pan/pot and make sure to properly proof your yeast. If your dough didn't rise, it's the yeast or area where you're letting it rise. I turn my oven on for a sec and let it get barely warmer than room temp. Close the door...voila! perfect spot to let the dough rise. Gotta go, donuts calling =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is really good. Very airy. I made it with my bread machine and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the perfect donut recipe! Crispy on the outside and airy and delicious on the inside. I made a half batch and got 12 donuts with several donut holes. They we devoured when I served them. I had two guests and they ate 11 donuts between the two of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It was OK... but it took me long time to prepare it... I don't know why... I followed all the steps... It was OK for me... But my brother couldn't eat it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
These were my first successful attempt at making raised doughnuts,notice I said first successful attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My first donuts and they turned out wonderful! I used mostly bread and whole wheat flours and butter as that was all I had. They were tender inside and tasty! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States