My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Have made this quite a few times every time delious! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best doughnut recipe ever, every one LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Harms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIMMIE5474
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made 1/2 the recipe. For making the dough, I used my bread machine. My dough turned out wonderful. I did use butter in place of shortening for the dough. Once the dough was ready, I punched it down and placed the dough on a floured surface. Rolled out once and cut using my doughnut cutter. I was able to get 12. I let them rise for approximately 45 min to an hour. I used my deep fryer and a chopstick to flip the doughnuts and remove them from the oil. I fried two doughnuts at a time. My doughnuts cooked less than 2 min. at 350 degrees. I used canola oil. So keep a watchful eye while frying. I used the glaze in the recipe too. Glaze was good. I had to add an additional two tablespoons of water to get the glaze the consistency I wanted. We all ate one doughnut immediately. Very good :) Very light and fluffy. The doughnuts were even good the next morning too. The glaze was not as pretty but still delicious. Thank you for the recipe cookiequeen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stewartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Best recipe, by far. My boys can't get enough of them. They like them even better with chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smoken T's
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I'm a doughnut connoisseur... This is the best recipe I have ever found for doughnuts! Made 3 batches in 4 days. It can be a little tricky on step 8, because it doesn't say to knead dough after you punch down, but it's a must. I learned this on 1st batch, I followed recipe exactly as called for, but noticed the 1st doughnuts didn't rise near as well as the trimmings I kneaded back into a ball and rolled out again...even made a chocolate glaze to add a little variety. 2nd batch, I mixed in ground cinnamon in step #8 the kneaded & rolled out then cut dough into 1 inch strips and folded to make cinnamon twists then coated with glaze (I doubled the glaze mixture) and /or with cinnamon sugar... Phenomenal!!! All gone before I could take a pic(not kidding). 3rd batch, followed steps 1-7 then at 8 after punching dough I added 3 TBS powdered cinnamon and 2 chopped apples and kneaded as recipe calls for & separated & pressed out fritters. Follow steps 9-11, I had to triple step 12 to have enough glaze but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoken T's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
this was light and fluffy, although not quite as much as it should be,but I have to agree with the reviewer who said it tasted like bread dough. no flavor anf not comparable to a bakery donut,,,and I grew up in a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't cook. I did make these for my annual effort and they were awesome. Very light and fluffy. I did make a small change to the recipe and that was to add more flower. The dough wouldn't unstick from the bowl. Other than that it worked perfect. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Excellent. My family loved them. Can do a lot with this recipe. Put your own spin on it or make them as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe was just OK. It tasted like fried dinner rolls to me, not the melt in your mouth kind of donuts from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Just tried this recipe today and absolutely loved it!!! The doughnuts turned out so delish and were so light and airy. The only thing that was a bummer for me was the glaze, after reading the reviews I doubled the recipe and thinned it out by adding more water to it; although next time I wont double the vanilla it seemed to overpower the doughnut. But I also made some whole doughnuts and rolled them in granulated sugar and filled them with raspberry jam and they were amazing!! Definitely a recipe I'm gonna keep in my repertoire! :D And note for those whose dough didn't turn out, usually for me when I under-knead the dough it will turn out just fine, as long as you don't over work the gluten in the flour and don't kill the yeast it will be able to create that light airy texture. And I like letting my dough's rise in the microwave so that way there is no draft and it will keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States