My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My son has been having donut withdrawals since we moved to the country. I thought I would surprise him with these. They are awesome! Even my daughter, who hates donuts, loved them. I made them exactly as the instructions stated with no changes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
One word: Perfect!!! If you like a bakery's doughnut: light, fluffy, soft, this is the doughnut for you! I used instant dry yeast, so I cut the amount of yeast to 3 tsp+1/4tsp+1/8tsp, when it first came out from the deep fry pan, I taste it and it kinda bland, but when I put the glaze and chocolate melt on, it perfect, it you don't want to put the glaze on, you should add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
My rating is somewhat unfair. I'd like to rate these on how they tasted fresh and warm right out of the hot oil, with one layer of glaze, and then how they tasted after they had cooled and had a second layer of glaze added. I even had originally thought I'd rate them after a day, to see if they were good. Ha! Fat chance. Because I made a half batch - which gave me 9 donuts and 13 holes - they got devoured. I managed to snag myself one donut hole. So, let me just say, delicious. I'm not a donut fan - though I always did enjoy the free fresh batch "red light" KK's we used to get - but these were so light and airy. And although they're not overly sweet, somehow they come out tasting like, well, a donut, not just fried dough. I did try the "crispy and creamy doughnuts" recipe on here and HATED it - so blah tasting and not at all light like these puppies. Only 3 really minor complaints I have are: 1) not enough glaze, needs to be doubled for a single coating, 2) needs more sifted flour to make the dough workable, and 3) the second roll of "scraps" makes not as pretty of donuts, as with any second rolling. See, minor. Besides having to wait for rising, these take no time to put together and the end result is so worth the wait. All that's missing is to mention needing a long stick to beat back the children and husband so the baker can get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
One Word : Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I was scared to try this recipe at first as a first time doughnut maker. Some were saying the dough didn't rise or was too sticky to work with. I followed the directions perfectly and mine turned out WONDERFUL! I will absolutely make these again. My kids loved them and my husband wants to take some to work for bragging rights. Thanks again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've never made doughnuts before, and these turned out great, especially for a first try. DS and I made them together. We let the bread machine make the dough; it rose beautifully. I then rolled them out, and DS cut them out. I put them on cookie sheets and let rise in the oven with the light on for 30 minutes. We didn't try the glaze but frosted instead with buttercream icing and sprinkles. Fun morning, and now my tummy hurts a bit from eating too many. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I don't now if its just me but my donuts were brown way before 2 minutes were up, but besides that these donuts were really good, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was first attempt at making doughnuts and working with yeast. The recipe and the instructions were easy to follow and the doughnuts were PERFECT!!!! My only modification was I mixed a strawberry compote to the glaze but that is because I love strawberries. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Everyone at my office LOVED these doughnuts and felt special that they were made for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Fabulous!! This recipe came out perfectly. Better than Krispy Kreme, Dunkin' and if you added bacon, gummy bears, or Fruteloops, better than Voodoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Lovely well risen doughnuts. I used vegetable oil instead of the shortening (I avoid trans-fats)and cut them out using a 4" cutter and got about 17. I am not a fan of glazed doughnuts so I cooked and covered half of them in cinnamon sugar and have frozen the rest (once proofed) to cook fresh another day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States