My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
If these don't rise for you like they should, either your yeast is bad or something else you are doing wrong. Please don't blame the recipe & rate it down because of your errors! Also, if the bread dough was super sweet like some are wanting, when you put the glaze on, it would be so sweet, you couldn't eat it. Try a store bought doughnut without icing. No difference. And just because you grew up in a bakery, doesn't mean YOU can bake. I grew up with my father as a rock mason, but I can't lay rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! They do take time, but they are SO worth it! They are light and airy, with just a touch of crisp on the outside. They are bakery quality for sure! I made maple and chocolate glazes for them, and they are to die for! We will probably not get store donuts again! I fried them in mostly veggie oil with about a cup of shortening added in (something I saw on here somewhere). I don't know if it made a difference, but that's what I'll do from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
amazing doughnuts!!! Very delicous!!!! Will make often for church gatherings. Thanks Peggianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very tasty! My kids told me, "Mom, these are better than Dunkin'. Your the best cook in the whole wide world!" After a comment like that I will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
my family liked these a lot. i made boston creams with this dough as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made these with my friend and they turned out great! Just like Crispy Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OwlLuvR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
So delicious! My kids really love it. Thank you for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I have been looking for a good donut recipe for a long time. This is it...Amazing, takes some time, but well worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KCWILDFLOWER
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Yummy. Reminds me of when I was little making these in the kitchen with my mom. These made my kids very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
this recipe is amazing!!!! First time I have ever made home made homemade donuts and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States