My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Good Recipe. I'm not sure if it was operator error, but my dough did not double in size in the bowl or when left cut on the counter to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
If these don't rise for you like they should, either your yeast is bad or something else you are doing wrong. Please don't blame the recipe & rate it down because of your errors! Also, if the bread dough was super sweet like some are wanting, when you put the glaze on, it would be so sweet, you couldn't eat it. Try a store bought doughnut without icing. No difference. And just because you grew up in a bakery, doesn't mean YOU can bake. I grew up with my father as a rock mason, but I can't lay rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! They do take time, but they are SO worth it! They are light and airy, with just a touch of crisp on the outside. They are bakery quality for sure! I made maple and chocolate glazes for them, and they are to die for! We will probably not get store donuts again! I fried them in mostly veggie oil with about a cup of shortening added in (something I saw on here somewhere). I don't know if it made a difference, but that's what I'll do from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
amazing doughnuts!!! Very delicous!!!! Will make often for church gatherings. Thanks Peggianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very tasty! My kids told me, "Mom, these are better than Dunkin'. Your the best cook in the whole wide world!" After a comment like that I will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
So delicious! My kids really love it. Thank you for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made these with my friend and they turned out great! Just like Crispy Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OwlLuvR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I have been looking for a good donut recipe for a long time. This is it...Amazing, takes some time, but well worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These were nice doughnuts. I am not a huge sweet tooth but the kids all thought that these were amazing! The dough itself is not very sweet, and it's the glaze that really adds that finishing touch you're looking for. I found that the glaze recipe was a bit thick as called for, and didn't make quite enough for the whole batch - I ended up mixing a second (smaller) thinner batch to finish them off and it was perfect. Not sure if I'll make these again, as I'm not a fan of feeding my family Crisco, or frying anything for that matter. I had to actually borrow some to make these, but since it was for a special occasion, I suppose once in awhile won't kill ya. Maybe I will try subbing a different more natural fat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Great recipe! What I did was made them whole & when we cooled I put jam into icing bag, made a hole into the side right into the center & filled it. then dusted with icing sugar. I also filled them one day with whipped cream & then dipped in melted dark chocolate. The donut holes when they are still warm roll in cinnimion, sugar, melted chocolate. It's endless what you can fill them with or cover them with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States