My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This recipe is amazing. Another trick I discovered for cutting them: I use a non-flared, smooth topped glass that is a little smaller than the size of donut I want and a soda bottle cap for the holes...this has worked perfectly for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ingram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trent SC
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Ok, so open your windows when you do this. Have a fire extinguisher ready, just in case. Make sure you wait an hour for the dough to rise, and you might have a sugar coma after so make sure you turn off the stove. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent SC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
my first attempt at making doughnuts. These were very good but not quite as fluffy as store bought. Perhaps I overmixed them as suggested by another poster. Guess I'll have to retry next Saturday, HAHA. I put orange flavoring in some of my glaze, you could use any flavor really, and that added a nice extra taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Mary Grimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
First try at donunts and they were a hit! Only problem was i couldnt measure the yeast and ended up adding a little more, hence a yeasty taste (nothing a dark chocolate dip cannot hide!!) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashmi Rege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Terrific recipe! Experienced baker, but I had never made raised doughnuts before. I halved the recipe, since if I screwed it up, I wouldn't have 2 dozen on our hands (or in our mouths), plus I had to substitute butter for the shortening, since I didn't have any on hand. Did 4 with powdered sugar and jelly inside, then the regular doughnut rounds with a cinnamon glaze, and the rest with a dark chocolate glaze. There were like fluffy pillows of deliciousness :-). beats Krispy Kreme any day (admittedly, I was never impressed by the cloying sweetness of Krispy Kreme)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Have made this quite a few times every time delious! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best doughnut recipe ever, every one LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Harms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIMMIE5474
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made 1/2 the recipe. For making the dough, I used my bread machine. My dough turned out wonderful. I did use butter in place of shortening for the dough. Once the dough was ready, I punched it down and placed the dough on a floured surface. Rolled out once and cut using my doughnut cutter. I was able to get 12. I let them rise for approximately 45 min to an hour. I used my deep fryer and a chopstick to flip the doughnuts and remove them from the oil. I fried two doughnuts at a time. My doughnuts cooked less than 2 min. at 350 degrees. I used canola oil. So keep a watchful eye while frying. I used the glaze in the recipe too. Glaze was good. I had to add an additional two tablespoons of water to get the glaze the consistency I wanted. We all ate one doughnut immediately. Very good :) Very light and fluffy. The doughnuts were even good the next morning too. The glaze was not as pretty but still delicious. Thank you for the recipe cookiequeen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stewartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Best recipe, by far. My boys can't get enough of them. They like them even better with chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smoken T's
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I'm a doughnut connoisseur... This is the best recipe I have ever found for doughnuts! Made 3 batches in 4 days. It can be a little tricky on step 8, because it doesn't say to knead dough after you punch down, but it's a must. I learned this on 1st batch, I followed recipe exactly as called for, but noticed the 1st doughnuts didn't rise near as well as the trimmings I kneaded back into a ball and rolled out again...even made a chocolate glaze to add a little variety. 2nd batch, I mixed in ground cinnamon in step #8 the kneaded & rolled out then cut dough into 1 inch strips and folded to make cinnamon twists then coated with glaze (I doubled the glaze mixture) and /or with cinnamon sugar... Phenomenal!!! All gone before I could take a pic(not kidding). 3rd batch, followed steps 1-7 then at 8 after punching dough I added 3 TBS powdered cinnamon and 2 chopped apples and kneaded as recipe calls for & separated & pressed out fritters. Follow steps 9-11, I had to triple step 12 to have enough glaze but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoken T's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States