My Mom's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Just okay. I picked this recipe because of the homemade sauce, thinking it would be more flavorful than something from a jar. It was just okay though, and it added a lot of extra work. I would probably look for a quicker recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Momma Mia! This is good sauce! I want to say - in the list of ingredients the wine is listed after the lasagna noodles. You really need to add that to the sauce a good hour or more before you even consider the sauce 'done". I added most of the Parmesan cheese to the ricotta filling (along with an egg) rather than just putting it all on top. I also did not pre-cook the lasagna noodles. Start with a layer of sauce, noodles and then some more sauce and continue. With sauce on both sides of the noodles they cook up perfectly and your lasagna will not be runny. This makes a bunch - far more than the 12 servings stated. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Simply delicious! I added 1-1/2 lbs Italian sausage to the recipe after the sauce was cooked. The flavor was outstanding. The only thing I would have done differently was to make extra sauce to put on top of each piece when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I went strickly by the recipe on this one (except for the wine, I didn't have any). Although next time I will cut it in half, it was a wonderful dish. My family(no kidding) ate it for a week. I was going to freeze it but they just kept eating it!! Definitely one I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used this recipe for the sauce only and the sauce gets five stars from me and yields plenty! I cooked in 1/2 pound of ground beef. Instead of crushed tomatoes I used diced but I pulsed it, in batches, in the food processor for a few one second pulses. I also uped the basil a bit. Awesome! Will use this sauce recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This turned out very yummy. I added some pork sausage to the sauce and froze one pan for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
It is a great recipe. I used all of the ingredients except for the ricotta cheese and it still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLHODGES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Markham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This is very similar to my family's recipe. We do, however, add a few eggs to the ricotta cheese (to help hold the lasagna together) as well as some seasoning, which is why one of the reviewers probably said the recipe was a little bland. Add black pepper, some nutmeg (a pinch), some parmesan cheese, and some fresh or dried parsley. In addition, his sauce is a great starter. Cooking some meat in the sauce will yield a richer taste (if you eat meat). I bake some sausages in the oven to get rid of the excess oil, then drop in the sauce to cook. These can be served on the side, or cut up and added to the lasagna in slices. Same goes for meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This lasagna was decent, but to me, it was not worth the time that it takes to make it. I got compliments on the tomato sauce and it made the kitchen smell wonderful while i was making it, but the dish as a whole was a little bit too bland, and I didn't think that it tasted any better than sauce from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Friends and family loved this dish, will try with some suasage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States