My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe is just like my mom's, except she adds crumbled bacon. It's absolutely fabulous with the bacon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great potato salad recipe. I added about a teaspoon of yellow mustard to half of the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I am an experimenter, and this recipe is a great starting spot for my more "garden"potato salad. I added a large sweet potato and 5 sliced carrots to the boiling potatoes about half way through (mine took longer than 12 minutes, because I like some of them to mash up when mixed in). I also added celery to the onion, and used 16oz chopped bread n butter sandwich slices and about a cup of chopped english cucumber instead of the 24oz sweet pickles, and added 2 T each lemon juice and dill relish, and 1/2 a lemon's worth of zest to the dressing, which I made of 1/2 mayo and 1/2 miracle whip, B-cause I serve people who like both, and this way I can tell everyone I used their personal favorite. Oh, I also added a T each of dried dill weed and Litehouse Freeze-Dried Salad Herb Blend, as well as a t of Organic Turmeric for its health benefit. Thanks for the great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Brannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe for a potato salad. I did however omit the pickle relish and onion. My kids raved about it! Thank you, I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
AWESOME! I added some chopped celery, but other than that, this is soo simple and such a wonderful comfort food - - and I'm eating it in cold weather - November! Good for summer or winter salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Generally, I am a colossal failure at potato salad. I just can't seem to get the flavors right. This recipe, however was a winner!! Easy and it tastes great....and I'm not even a big fan of sweet pickles. Not sure if it made a difference or not, but I boiled potatoes and eggs yesterday and refrigerated them until I was ready to make the salad today. I also used mayo, not Hellman's. Now that I have a great base, I feel more confident to try other flavors, like dill pickles, etc. Very happy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
GREEEAAAAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very good...My mother has also made a version of this since I was a child, and I carry it on now...my teen-aged children will not eat any potato salad other than mine. We add a squirt of yellow mustard and either a splash of vinegar or pickle juice, chopped ham, and about a teaspoon of sugar. Oh yes, sometimes I sub green onions for the yellow and sometimes omit entirely...depending on who's joining for dinner...then I just add onion powder. Thanks, I didn't think anyone else made a similar version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Almost identical to my mother's recipe. The only differences are using Kosher dill pickles and adding a small amount of mustard. Also, and this is very important, don't peel and chop your potatoes until AFTER they have been cooked and cooled. They will be much more firm and not be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Almost the exact recipe my Grandma taught my Mom over 50 years ago and then she passed it on to me. The only changes are use approx. 1/2 jar sweet pickles and a small amount of the pickle juice (to taste), add a little chopped celery and salt and pepper to taste. This is the only way my family really likes potato salad and this recipe will be passed on to my kids. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States