My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe was very simple, so I was excited to try it out. I'm a fan of good potato salad, but I've never took the time to really make it myself. I'm rating this 4 of 5 because like I said it was simple and easy to make, as far as the overall taste it gets the job done, but there wasn't any extra umph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Learning2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My family loved this, it was my first time making potato salad and they raved about it. I added some mustard, celery, and some bacon bites to give it a personal flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is my new 'go-to' for potato salad. It's Perfect! I received so many compliments for something to be so simple. (i did add one big squirt of yellow mustard) I liked that there are so many eggs....made it kinda like 'deviled potato salad'....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I wanted to surprise my wife by making potato salad for our 4th of July barbecue. This recipe was a huge hit, so much so that my wife was a little jealous as everyone raved about it. It actually became the on going laugh at the party as my wife kept saying how awful it was as she consumed several bowls full. So we get home from the barbecue at my sisters place and what's the first thing my wife wants to eat, you guessed it, my potato salad. I think I just created a monster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
gotta add some mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Best ever!! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
very ggod just like Mom made!!! I add a sqirt of mustard and used sweet relish and it turned out great!!! everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This potato salad got rave reviews at a recent BBQ we had. The only changes I made were that I used sweet pickle relish instead of chopping sweet pickles and I also added celery. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I just finished making this and of course before putting it in the fridge had to taste, I never would have thought so few ingredients would make such an awesome potato salad! I did add a bit of mustard and dill pickles instead of sweet since that is what I had, but using miracle whip instead of mayo added the tanginess needed. love it, thanks so much for sharing. I have been looking a long time for a potato salad recipe like this. I don't have to always make German potato salad now or buy from the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious and very easy to make! It reminded me of my dear grandma's potato salad. Everyone enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States