My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is my new 'go-to' for potato salad. It's Perfect! I received so many compliments for something to be so simple. (i did add one big squirt of yellow mustard) I liked that there are so many eggs....made it kinda like 'deviled potato salad'....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I wanted to surprise my wife by making potato salad for our 4th of July barbecue. This recipe was a huge hit, so much so that my wife was a little jealous as everyone raved about it. It actually became the on going laugh at the party as my wife kept saying how awful it was as she consumed several bowls full. So we get home from the barbecue at my sisters place and what's the first thing my wife wants to eat, you guessed it, my potato salad. I think I just created a monster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
gotta add some mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Best ever!! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
very ggod just like Mom made!!! I add a sqirt of mustard and used sweet relish and it turned out great!!! everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This potato salad got rave reviews at a recent BBQ we had. The only changes I made were that I used sweet pickle relish instead of chopping sweet pickles and I also added celery. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I just finished making this and of course before putting it in the fridge had to taste, I never would have thought so few ingredients would make such an awesome potato salad! I did add a bit of mustard and dill pickles instead of sweet since that is what I had, but using miracle whip instead of mayo added the tanginess needed. love it, thanks so much for sharing. I have been looking a long time for a potato salad recipe like this. I don't have to always make German potato salad now or buy from the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious and very easy to make! It reminded me of my dear grandma's potato salad. Everyone enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I don't add onion to my potato salad , some times I add yellow mustard , and black pepper to it. and sometimes for a change I like to add frozen mixed vegetables after boiling them (corn, carrots,green beans ). if I'm going to use only potato I sprinkl the salad with dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I made it without pickles and onions..because we don't like anything crunchy in our potato salad. It was awesome!! All the store brands have celery, onions, pickles..so we end up picking all that out, making it difficult to eat (it takes forever..lol)! Thanks for this simple recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States