My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So close to what I had on Sunday picnics as a child.Save some chopping and use sweet pickle relish. And Miracle Whip instead of mayo gives it that extra kick...... Thanks for submitting. It brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I guess it is all about what you're used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Simple and tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurseboyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
My Grandmother and Mom made this potato salad, except they put a little dry mustard in it. I do the same except since we don't care for pickles, I leave them out. No pickels also removes some of the salt. My Mother's brother mentioned he really missed the family Potato Salad, so I made a batch for a family reunion we were taking him to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Add celery and you got a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I would consider this a basic starter that you would customize. I made it as is, but felt the need to add more juice from the pickles, quite a bit of yellow mustard, pepper to taste, and definitely celery. Once I got done adding everything, then it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very good dish. Glad I chose it for my first time making potato salad. Although I used onion powder instead of a raw onion, my family really enjoyed it. 4 out of 5 of us went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Great.My recipe too. Only I use fat free mayo and only about 4 eggs.Used kosher dills for better flavour and added mustard and paprika for flavour and color. 10 eggs...way too much!!!! Need to cut the fat and calorie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have tried many recipes for potato salad but this one is the best. Very easy to follow. The potatoes are not mushy. I left out the onions for my family but added red bell pepper and celery. We enjoyed this over both Thanksgiving and Christmas Dinner. Very tasty. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was decent potato salad. Not entirely what I'm looking for, but definitely the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States