My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Excellent! My husband said tastes just like my Mother used to make. First time I ever tried to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Instead of chopping sweet pickles, I just add sweet relish. And I mix my mayo with milk, just enough to keep it creamy, add the relish, mustard, sugar, and just a tad of cider vinegar. Eggs and chopped onion are also a must. Same with macaroni salad, except I always add canned tiny shrimp to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I agree with margiekale, potato salad must have some celery and a bit of mustard. Also, my nephew, who is a professional chef, gave me another suggestion: add a bit of dill weed. It does wonders for your potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is my recipe with a few additions. I use sweet mixed pickles, a few sweet onions and a touch of yellow mustard. Sometimes if I have any celery I'll use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I add dill pickle relish, dry mustard, sliced bl. olives, sliced green olives and finey chopped celery to make a deluxe pot luck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is the same as my grandma's and mother's recipe, I add crumpled cooked bacon for hubby and sprinkle paprika on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I would omit the sweet pickles and halve the number of eggs. Just add a couple squirts of yellow mustard. I also would use a little less onion and add some chopped celery and chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is a great starting recipe. I have made one pretty close to it for many years. I use dill pickles instead of sweet, and miracle whip instead of mayonnaise. I also add a dash of apple cidar vinegar/ dill pickle juice and yellow mustard. I put an extra sliced hard boiled egg on top and sprinkle with paprika and black pepper for a nice presentation. It is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Just like my Mom's potato salad except she put in a small jar of relish instead of pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I agree it's probably what your used to. Potato salad must have some celery it in. Also I add a tablespoon of mustard to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States