My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I will make it again, my family loved this potato salad, next time I Will get the 25oz size , the first time I used a smaller jar of sweet pickles. This was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I add celery, sometimes radishes (sliced) and 2 teaspoons white sugar is a must!! It gives it just a little tinge of sweetness.. do beat the blah bland taste of most potato salads. I get compliments every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortbreadgal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
If you mix the sauce with the potatoes while they are warm, the potatoes take on much more flavor and the pickles/juice/mayo combo will blend anyway. I've been making this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My foster Mother's potato salad was similar but she added yellow mustard,chopped green onions, dill pickle and paprika. She was arthritic and rarely cooked leaving the job to my older Sister but when she did she could make our holiday meals memorable filling the house with the smells of whatever she was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Dollinter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I grew up with this recipe and everyone loves it .... slight difference, I use Miracle Whip vs. Mayo and a tab of yellow mustard. YUMMT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alonia Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is very close to my grandmother's potato salad. The only changes I made were to add a little mustard to taste as well as some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a pretty basic recipe, but I feel that it needs some finely diced red or green bell pepper and some celery I'd cut down just a bit on the sweet pickles. It's nice to see that you're not ruining the terrific flavor with mustard! I also always add just a few drops of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was good but I have had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States