My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
WoW!! What an easy recipe that is so easily adaptable to personal tastes. Since I was only cooking for a couple of people, I just estimated with 4 large potato's and 5 eggs. Approx. 3/4 cup mayo, and a dash of mustard. (I could also see adding a shot of a Louisiana hot sauce, which I love.) I used bread and butter pickles cut up, the flavor of those sweet rounds and added a little juice. I have since made this several times, and what I find works best for me is some pickle juice and white vinegar which gives it the bite I love. Also adding fresh chives..........I want to thank Holly (who reviewed this recipe) when she wrote ' to cook the potato's whole in their skin, and then peel and chop after they were cooled.' That was PERFECT (because I know I can overcook potato's and they will turn mushy. In fact, I will also now make my mashed potato's this way.) This was my first time making potato salad and I will not buy store bought again, this was just too good and easy. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy to make recipe. We modified it for Thanksgiving dinner, so instead of 8 serving we made it for ten. The measurements were spot on, and directions easy to follow. We substituted the sweet pickles or dill relish, and saved a bit of time. Also we added about 5 tablespoons of Old Bay to make the recipe really pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious! Cookin' for two so I divided recipe in half-added 1cup sweet pickle relish, 2 celery stalks and 1/2 green pepper-finely chopped and 1 T. yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
it was a great recipe i just added chopped celery, mustard and sugar, my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Pretty good. It's a safe and easy recipe but... nothing special. I did add a little paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I dont have a bad thing to say about this recipe... it tastes just like mom's which is exactly what I was going for! LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tys-ol-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
After reading a few reviews that it needed some thing more. I added ranch dressing, mustard, and sugar. And it tastes AMAZING!! Just a few squirts of mustard, and about a half cup of Ranch (subtract it from the mayo amount) and about a quarter cup of sugar (seems like a lot but I like things a little sweeter). Definately a great recipe to go off from and tweek!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe was very simple, so I was excited to try it out. I'm a fan of good potato salad, but I've never took the time to really make it myself. I'm rating this 4 of 5 because like I said it was simple and easy to make, as far as the overall taste it gets the job done, but there wasn't any extra umph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Learning2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My family loved this, it was my first time making potato salad and they raved about it. I added some mustard, celery, and some bacon bites to give it a personal flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States