My Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
It is a very easy and great recipe, thanks. I add some dark chocolate and instead of milk I used coffee creamer and lemon to make it parve. It looks great and my son just had two pieces!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe today. However, I substituted the shortening for margarine(Country Crock), and followed the rest of the recipe. I used an extra-large sized egg and cooked it in a Bundt pan for about 30 min. My cake looks, smells and tastes like a boxed cake mix. It is moist like a boxed mix and not at all dense like some reviewers claim with theirs. I can't imagine what they did, but I found the recipe very easy to put together and a very good copycat. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I substituted apple sauce for the shortening. For the frosting I went with mixed berries and whip cream. Very Very delicious! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I had to use canola oil instead of crisco but my cake turned out just fine. It rose nicely and was not dense or fudgy at all. As good as any chocolate cake I've made!! Love that it fits in an 8x8 so we don't have a huge pan of dessert sitting around for just my family. I paired it with "light and creamy brown sugar frosting" from this site. It was just the right amount of frosting for this little cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
7.14.10 This is the best DARK CHOCOLATE cake. It is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Unlike the reviewer who described this as light and airy, I agree with Sumchelle that this is a dense cake, rich and moist, but still tender - and definitely not "fluffy." Deep, dark chocolate, stick to your fork delicious! I did use the shortening as called for, and freshly brewed hot coffee rather than the water. So many frostings would work well with this, but I chose Brownie Frosting, also from this site. This satisfies even the most serious chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The only change I made was using HOT COFFEE instead of WATER. (Always...) This cake is soooo incredibly dense and rich. I made it in a bundt pan, same cook time. I enjoyed this a lot more though when it was fresh from the oven, all hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It was chocolatey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent. This was easy to whip up and tastes great. I used 1/2 cup butter rather than shortening and added lemon to regular milk since I had no buttermilk. It turned out just like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Wonderful cake. Easy to make. Light, moist and airy (all important qualities in a cake). New family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States