My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
My boyfriends family love Applesauce Cake and, when I made this recipe they fell in love with it. Said it was one of the best that they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I am teaching a cooking class for 8 six to eight year olds. This was the first cake they made. It got good reviews from all eight families. : - )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This is a great recipe, it was eaten very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe was a hit with my family. I served it to dinner guests and had to give out the recipe because they loved it so much. I changed a few things because I didn't have everything listed. I upped the cinn. to 1 tsp. and omitted the cloves, allspice, walnuts and raisins. I also added 2 eggs instead of one and used cinn. applesause because that's all I had on hand. I added about 4 fresh cubed macintosh apples and I didn't have the ingredients for the frosting so I coated the top with confectionary sugar. It was a big hit!!! I am making another one today and I am planning on using the frosting this time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Love the cake. I didn't make it with rasins or walnuts cause I didn't have any and instead of 1/2 cup shortening I used 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Didn't frost it at all. The cake turned out moist the way I like it and my husband said it was very good also. We have a few apple trees and I make homemade applesauce often and used that. I might add homemade apple butter with the applesauce sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this cake for my son's kindergarten class with the applesauce that they made together, everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
added 1 chopped granny smith apple,instead of all raisins i used 1/2 craisins,1/2 raisins. this cake is a *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this for our St. Patrick's day party and it turned out great. Very moist and flavorful. I used food coloring to make a decorative shamrock and green trim on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Awesome ! I followed the recipe, except I didn't have allspice so I put Ginger in instead?. THe cake is so good I couldn't bare to frost it, and take away from the great taste. will definatley add this to the recipes I hand down to the girls. Also If you read the reviews the only time it didn't score 5 stars is when the changed it. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States