My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Delicious cake! I had to use up some unopening applesauce and decided upon this recipe. I cut it in half using the servings calculator. I decided to bake this in a small jellyroll baking sheet rather than a cake pan. The size sheet I used was a 12" x 8.5" I baked at 325 for 13 minutes. The only tweaking of ingredients I did was add additional cinnamon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of shorting it was good moist and Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The best, moistest cake ever!!!!! Thank you for sharing. It will be a favorite forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I decided to make this cake because it most closely matched the type of cake I wanted. I did make some changes which are significant and in my opinion, enhanced the flavor. I used two eggs, substituted milk for water and butter for shortening. I also used a tsp of vanilla. I did add a tsp more of cinnamon and didn't have either cloves or allspice, so I used 1 tsp of apple pie seasoning - delish! I also left out the raisins and nuts and substitued about 1.5 cups of finely diced Macintosh apples. I dusted the top with powdered sugar and it was just perfect - without frosting. Excellent basic cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing - it was very close to the cake I had recently in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Luv the recipe:-) The cake is moist and yummy delicious! Even my husband, who usually doesn't like fruit type cakes, liked it. I opted to omit raisins & walnuts. I used two eggs instead of one, used onl 1/4 tsp of cloves & more cinnamon. Also added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. I topped the cake with a glaze made of confectionary sugar & orange juice. Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Awesome ! I followed the recipe, except I didn't have allspice so I put Ginger in instead?. THe cake is so good I couldn't bare to frost it, and take away from the great taste. will definatley add this to the recipes I hand down to the girls. Also If you read the reviews the only time it didn't score 5 stars is when the changed it. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this for our St. Patrick's day party and it turned out great. Very moist and flavorful. I used food coloring to make a decorative shamrock and green trim on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
excellent recipe. i substituted apple sauce with cherry sauce and i turned out great. i also added a teaspoon of nutella into each cupcake before baking, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zbf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
i made this for a family party and it was a huge hit with my husband's family. i added apples but otherwise followed the recipe and i frosted the cake with allspice cream cheese frosting. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a good cake. I used whole wheat flour and unsweetened applesauce and brown sugar. It could have used a little more spice. It cooked in about 30 minutes - nowhere near the time specified. I had the oven on the right temp, and I bake often, so I don't think there is anything wrong with the thermostat in m oven. My advice - just check it early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States