My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used all whole wheat flour and cut sugar in half. I have an abundance of applesauce so I used it instead of the water and shortening, for a total of 3 cups of applesauce. It took a lot longer to cook - about 60-70 min and was still sticky inside. It was not so good while still warm. I thought I would be tossing the recipe. BUT, the next day when totally cooled I cut a piece in half and put peanut butter on one side, jam on the other and made little sandwiches which we all thought were awesome, except for my 7 year old! I will definitely make again and use instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is VERY close to a cake I've been making since I was in jr. hi (c. 1956!) and it's long been a family favorite. Couple of notes - chunky applesauce adds a little texture, chill the applesauce before stirring in the soda. Slows the action of the soda a bit until you've mixed all ingredients and it's about to do its job. It does fine without the egg or the water. Lastly, Penuche Icing goes very well with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
added 1 chopped granny smith apple,instead of all raisins i used 1/2 craisins,1/2 raisins. this cake is a *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I give this 4 stars because I made some changes to the recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and butter instead of shortening (just my preference). I did not add nuts and raisins and I used store-bought white frosting. This was a delicious spiced cake - a big hit with the husband and 2-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this cake for my son's kindergarten class with the applesauce that they made together, everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Pretty good. Everyone said they liked it. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Love the cake. I didn't make it with rasins or walnuts cause I didn't have any and instead of 1/2 cup shortening I used 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Didn't frost it at all. The cake turned out moist the way I like it and my husband said it was very good also. We have a few apple trees and I make homemade applesauce often and used that. I might add homemade apple butter with the applesauce sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
cake has good flavor, but turned out more like a banana bread, top got hard.. I can say I'm not overly impressed. However, husband thinks it's great, so will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe was a hit with my family. I served it to dinner guests and had to give out the recipe because they loved it so much. I changed a few things because I didn't have everything listed. I upped the cinn. to 1 tsp. and omitted the cloves, allspice, walnuts and raisins. I also added 2 eggs instead of one and used cinn. applesause because that's all I had on hand. I added about 4 fresh cubed macintosh apples and I didn't have the ingredients for the frosting so I coated the top with confectionary sugar. It was a big hit!!! I am making another one today and I am planning on using the frosting this time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States