My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I found this very bland and not very tasty at all. I wouldn't make it again. Sorry :) I'm glad I didn't waste cream cheese for the icing and made a brown sugar sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My daughter requested an applesauce cake for her 4th birthday party. This recipe did not disappoint! I used vegetable oil instead od shortening and I did not make the cream cheese frosting. I didn't change anything else though and it was so moist and fluffy and had a lot of flavor! My daughter loved it and so did many of our party guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe and was disapointed. First of all it seemed like it had too much salt and not enough sugar. The frosting was runnie and made more that is needed for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I thought I'd done something wrong as the cake never rose. The frosting was too sweet (why orange juice for an apple cake?). I might try it again but would cut the applesauce down to 8 oz. or one cup and use milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aparri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I use half cup of vegetable oil and no frosting.Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this cake twice and it is wonderful! I found that if you make it a day ahead of time it is alot moister the next day. Actually it was moister the longer it sets. It was the best apple cake I've ever had. The only things I changed were: I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, I used butter instead of the shortening, and I added an extra 1/2 cup of applesause instead of the water. I used two 8 inch cake pans for a layer cake. I also had to use 2 extra cups of confectioner sugar to make the frosting a little firmer. I then melted caramel and poured over the top and let it drip down the sides for an added touch and topped it with walnuts. A huge hit with everyone! I've been asked for this recipe several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This cake is fabulous, moist, flavorful and a huge it with my family. I baked it in the 9 x 13 pan and never got the chance to frost it. They ate it warm. :) The only thing I changed was adding some peeled apple chunks. About 2 small apples worth. I will be making this again. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Very moist, but a little too heavy on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
SO GOOD! DIDNT THINK IT WAS GOING TO BE SO MOIST!! I DID ADD ANOTHER HALF A CUZ OF APPLCAUSE, AND I USED MY HOMEMADE KIND INSTEAD TO STORE BOUGHT WHICH TURNED OUT GREAT LOVED THE LITTLE CHUNKS OF APPLES IN IT :) ICING WAS VERY GOOD TOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Easy recipe, cake came out nice, soft and moist did add one extra tsp of cinnamon a personal preference. Also did not have cream cheese so made a cinnamon icing. Would make this recipe again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States