My Kid's Favorite Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
UPDATE: I'VE BEEN ON A MISSION TO RE-TRY RECIPES I DIDN'T LIKE THE FIRST TIME AROUND (THIS WAS ONE OF THEM). THIS TIME I CHANGED THINGS UP A BIT. I SIMMERED ON THE LOWEST HEAT SETTING POSSIBLE, SUBBED BONE-IN CHOPS AND USED GUINESS STOUT / SWEET BABY RAY'S HONEY BBQ SAUCE. HUGE DIFFERENCE!!! THE KEY IS TO SIMMER LOW AND SLOW. THANKS! Meh. Both my hubs and I didn't care for these at all (which is too bad because prep is SUPER easy). I worked from home today. Chicago was hit with a TON of snow over the past 24 hours. Rather than doubling my already long commute, I stayed in (thanks boss!). During my lunch hour, I prepped everything and then around 4, I threw my chops on the stovetop to simmer. I used Bud American Ale, Sweet Baby Ray's hickory brown sugar BBQ sauce (my favorite!), Montreal steak seasoning and a plain 'ol yellow onion (but I bet a Vidalia / sweet onion would have been better...). My issue with this recipe is two-fold. For starters, my sauce was B-I-T-T-E-R tasting!!! I can see how using a good quality, dark beer might make this better. Lastly, I just didn't care for the texture of these. A couple hours of slow simmering was enough to significantly alter the texture in a way that didn't suit me (these tasted like slow cooked chops - which I have NEVER liked). Served with mashed potatoes (to sop up the sauce), coleslaw and cornbread, this was an "OK" meal. I don't have kiddos, but I can definitely say these weren't my "favorite." Thanks anyways, KissingCook! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was great the first time we had it with pork chops and the second with steak both ways are delicious - thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Definitely a kid favorite in our house. I found that I like it better with pork chops with a bone. Still good without the bone but the meat was not as tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These were delicious. I used a whole can of beer because I did not want to waste any. I only used one onion, 1/2 cup of bbq and simmered it for 30 minutes. I added a tbsp of cornstarch mixed with a tbps of water at the end just to thicken the sauce up a bit. My husband could not stop talking about how good it smelt and how tender the meat was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wonderful twist on pork chops...scrumptious! Have cooked as indicated in recipe. Have also just thrown everything together when in a hurry, without searing pork chops, and still turned out great! The longer they cook, the better--definitely simmer at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipes says! IT WAS WONDERFUL. I served with it some country style green beans. My children ate it and begged, BEGGED, for more. My husband loved it. It is flavorful and the chop is tender. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Elizabeth Foyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My husband and I Love this recipe!!! Definitely one of our favorite meals!!! Recipe is perfect. I used to cook on stove top, but once our baby arrived I started slow cooking a lot more meals, and this recipe didn't need changed a bit. Turns out great in the slow cooker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this w/ a pork roast in the crock pot and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Not so great appearance, but the taste makes up for it! I used half a bottle of Michelob Ultra, a bottle of Kraft Reduced Calorie bbq sauce, and one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious! My husband actually asked for this again next week! A tip for anyone wanting to make this: Be sure to use quality ingredients! Cheap beer and bbq sauce will yield a bad sauce. Use good beer that you want to drink and your favorite bbq sauce, and you can't go wrong! I used Sweet Baby Ray's and Sam Adam's Octoberfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States