My Kentucky Derby Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The person that added this recipe was sitting back laughing as I cleaned my oven at midnight on derby eve! There is enough filling in this recipe for 2 9-inch pie crusts. I was attempting to make 2 pies and had enough for 4! It is delicious but next time I won't double the recipe and I will add more bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
The recipe did not work for me. It says to add 1 and 1/8 CUPS of butter!! I have researched the recipe and others say to add 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My husband LOVED this pie!!! And he doesn't like desserts, as a rule. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this for a Derby party this year. I did not use the corn oil and instead just used browned butter as a previous review mentioned. I also used 60% cacao chips instead of semisweet. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee. I agree that there is way too much filling - I ended up making two muffin-sized pies in addition to the main one. It was actually great because I was able to taste what I made without cutting into the actual pie prematurely. The pie turned out really well! It had a crust that resembled a cookie, and was gooey inside as I expected. The one thing I would change would be to melt the chocolate chips and mix it in after the sugars or something. My chocolate chips all sank to the bottom of the pie. Super tasty still, but a little crunchy. I would like the flavor and texture to be better balanced throughout the whole pie. It is a recipe I will keep! I did receive several compliments on it this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIRL40165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this for our Derby party this year. It was fantastic! Definitely an authentic derby pie! (Though I'm not a native Louisvillian, I lived there for 7 years and grew to love it as my 2nd hometown:) The only thing I have negative to say about it has already been said by another reviewer - there is WAY too much filling to fit in even a 9" deep dish pie plate. My oven was a mess after making it! But, everyone agreed it tasted great. Thanks for the recipe, LYNNINMA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I just fixed this last night for a Derby party. Everyone LOVED it! I feel the need to add that I, nor anyone who ate it, has ever had Derby Pie so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like. But this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
First thing I noticed when fixed as directed is entire pie batter will not fit into deep dish pie shell. No matter, I discarded what would not fit to edges of crust. Now during the baking process much of the pie filling is oozing out and spilling over the edges of the crust. The only change I made to the recipe was using what one reviewer suggested - browned butter instead of corn oil. I will come back later and review for taste. But I knew when I saw the ingredients, it was probably not going to fit into a 9 inch deep dish pie shell. Also the other reviewers here (at least 2) did not state they followed the recipe here ... only comments like "I've used this recipe for years" - the exact one? And "yummy, give me another piece" - did they fix it as directed or just looking at the picture? As I said, I will come back later and rate for taste but based on what's oozing over the edges, I should have discarded even more filling than I did to adjust to the deep dish pastry shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Clanton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This pie was wonderful! Being a Louisvillian, I've had lots of Derby pie and tried their receipes, but this one is the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Redchucks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeniJeni
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I have been making this pie for 10 years now. I usually brown the butter but I do not use oil. This is the staple of our Annual Kentucky Derby Party each year and it is always a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniJeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Can I have another piece? Wow, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States