My Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great recipe, very tasty. I love to make it during the fall/winter months not just for New Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Perfect as written. I made this for New Years day and it was a huge hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have white wine, so I used beer instead! Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth instead of water. Oh yeah, and I didn't have b.e.p., so I used black beans. Delicious. We ate it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have heard that eating Black-eyed Peas on New Year's Day will bring good luck for the whole year soI made this tasty soup and used this recipe as a 'jump off' point. (I always research many recipes and pull together my own dish. Be brave with your cooking!) Browning the ham bone is the key to this recipe. It gives the oil that great salty smokey flavor that the veggies get to soak up when you cook them in it. Yum. I added alot of elements and changed a few things but def a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metalicious
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. 5 Star. used 1 lb peas, 1 teasp. thyme, 2 cups broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Deliscouis a keeper in my house.Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is definitely a Five-Star recipe. My family loved it. I did have to add more chicken broth on the second day for leftovers, but didn't make a difference. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have never ate nor made this dish. When I made it yesterday for my family they loved it! It was very flavorful and will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomNom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Let me start by saying that I hate black-eyed peas, but annually try them on New Years day!! This was the best I have had. I couldn't find a ham bone, like some other people, but I just used a package of diced ham I found at the grocery by the bacon. Everyone loved them and there were no left overs. The search is over for a Black-eyed Pea recipe! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Of the recipes available, I chose this as a cook who combines favorite recipes is a person after my own heart - especially as Hoppin John can be made in a variety of ways, as long as it has a couple of key ingredients. I found this recipe easy to use and very tasty. I made it to accompany collards, corn bread, benne wafers, and Carolina Gold rice for good luck and wealth in the new year (not bad for a Yankee boy). I would add a few pointers. In the South, neck bones are a preferred addition as they have tasty meat on them. I have also used hocks or hog jowls although the latter can be fatty and should be discarded midway through the cooking. I would not use a bone from a sweet ham such as "Honey Baked" as they do not have the same flavor. I also add a couple of diced tomatoes at the end of the cooking for color and interest. They should be cooked briefly and not allowed to boil down. This time, I misjudged the salt and added too much. To counteract the effects, I added a couple of red potatoes to the pot cut in thin medallions. They absorbed the extra salt. I removed them before they became too soft and, not wanting to waste them, put them on a plate. They were delicioius, espeically with the Hoppin John on top!!! This would be a great alternative for those who do not like rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States