My Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was amazing! I made it as directed except used dry black eyed peas that I cooked ahead of time. It is so wonderful! Oh, I didn't have any wine, so I skipped that, but can imagine the extra layer of flavor it would add. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Why can I no longer add recipes to my recipe box or print out the recipes? I can not find anything on the site to do this any more. This is very discouraging. This recipe is a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great recipe, very tasty. I love to make it during the fall/winter months not just for New Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Perfect as written. I made this for New Years day and it was a huge hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have white wine, so I used beer instead! Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth instead of water. Oh yeah, and I didn't have b.e.p., so I used black beans. Delicious. We ate it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have heard that eating Black-eyed Peas on New Year's Day will bring good luck for the whole year soI made this tasty soup and used this recipe as a 'jump off' point. (I always research many recipes and pull together my own dish. Be brave with your cooking!) Browning the ham bone is the key to this recipe. It gives the oil that great salty smokey flavor that the veggies get to soak up when you cook them in it. Yum. I added alot of elements and changed a few things but def a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metalicious
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. 5 Star. used 1 lb peas, 1 teasp. thyme, 2 cups broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Deliscouis a keeper in my house.Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is definitely a Five-Star recipe. My family loved it. I did have to add more chicken broth on the second day for leftovers, but didn't make a difference. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have never ate nor made this dish. When I made it yesterday for my family they loved it! It was very flavorful and will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomNom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States