My Grandmother's Potato Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I had this cookie for the first time when I was in grade school back in the late 1960's. I was amazed that the salty-sweet taste and texture reminds me of shortbread. This recipe turns out perfect both in taste and texture. It's become a favorite of my grandchildren. This is a true heirloom recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Pickering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have never tried potato chip cookies, but decided to make these to use up 3 small bags of chips that no one wanted. I was a little skeptical because of the simplicity of the ingredients and becuase the dough turned out very soft and buttery. I baked them until golden around the edges and they turned out really good. Just a delicious, simple cookie, nothing extravagant. Just a note, the dough doesn't seem to spread much during baking so you want to flatten them before baking. Also, I used a little more than 1.5 cups of potatoe chips and it turned out fine (I didnt want to throw away any leftovers from the bags).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love this cookie! I used brown sugar. Did not crush potato chips very fine and baked for 15 minutes at 375. I flattened. the cookies before baking. Turned out nice and crispy. Toots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
how can anybody call this bland? do you have taste buds? i do bake at 325, as i find the butter tends to brown too quickly. when i tell people about potato chip cookies, i get strange looks. however, when they taste one, they want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
They seemed a little pasty. Although they did have a decent amount of sweet flavor, the potato chips seemed to completely overwhelmed by it. You couldn't even just pick out a potato chip and eat it without it tasting like sugar and nothing potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a really good Recipe, taste just like how my Grandmother's use to taste = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The first batch I left in balls as they dropped off the spoon and they were a little "doughy" in the center. The second batch I flattened and baked at the reccommended time. The 3rd batch I flattened and then forgot about when I got a phone call! It turned out WAY better. They were in for almost 25 min. and golden brown around the edges. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I found these to be quite bland, with virtually no flavor whatsoever...salty or sweet. Perhaps for a childs palate they are fine, but wanted to take them to a charity event for adults. Glad I tried them out first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My Grandother made these cookies. Wonderful. She always kept them in the freezer as they are very fragile. At least Gradma's was. Bet you can't eat just one. Thank for posting Little chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States