My Grandmother's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Outstanding! I made it just as the recipe was written. The only thing I did'nt add was the blue cheese, only because I did'nt have any. Its by far and a way the best french dressing I have ever had. And I love french dressing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Tasty! It's nice to be able to enjoy a creamy dressing that isn't high in fat. I don't use sugar in order to lower the calories. In its place I use a little bit of honey and the rest of the sweetness comes from stevia. It's probably not as thick as the original recipe, but the taste is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Oh My GOODNESS!! Love this dressing! I'm thinking about making several jars up and giving them out as gifts this Holiday season. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
A+++! I'm from the eastern MN/western WI area and LOVED a particular brand of French dressing that began with an "H" and was a French man's name (not sure if I can actually share it here), which is very hard-to-find and anything close to it is non-existent here in the Mesa, AZ area. This tastes almost EXACTLY like it! I love that I can tweak it so it's healthier - without all the added preservatives and sugar fillers. As per previous suggestions, I substituted Splenda for sugar (I used 2/3 c. Splenda), used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste instead of the ketchup, and omitted the blue cheese to save on cal's and my glycemic index. YUM! If you love traditional French dressing somewhere in taste between Catalina, California, and Western, THIS IS A MUST-TRY. Bonus: SO EASY TO PREPARE! Thanks for sharing, JIMBOWERS. It's definitely a permanent add-in to my recipe box, and I'm sharing with all my friends and family too =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This dressing is AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
wonderful, better than any other french dressing i've had. i did not use fresh onions or garlic though. fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This dressing was a hit! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Outstanding recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I didn't have blue cheese so I omitted it, and it was still delicious. I only added a little more than 1/3 cup sugar though. I took the advice of the other reviews and added it last so I could test how much I wanted. I also put it in my blender after added the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My hubby loved this dressing. After a few days, it seemed that the sugar in it made the dressing a little too sweet. Next time I will use a little less sugar. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States