My Grandmother's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Great recipe! I leave out the blue cheese and it's still delicious anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Loved this! I cut the sugar in half because I am trying to cut down on our sugar. Also just used a pinch of salt because I need to cut my salt intake...the ketchup has both of these. Didn't use blue cheese because I didn't have any....but even with those modifications this dressing was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
As others suggested, I used Splenda (TM) sugar substitute, with just a smidge less than the recipe calls for. I also used Asian garlic infused rice vinegar. Perfect! I'll never buy French dressing again. This was so simple to whip up in the food processor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
i know in theory I'm not supposed to rate recipes a 5 if I made changes but I can't help it. I'm a reviewer reader and I appreciate reading input from everyone else and I probably wouldn't give a recipe a second look if it was a 3 star versus a 4 1/2. With that being said. ..... I love this recipe how I made it with other awesome cooks' help. I did not have any blue cheese or you can bet your booty it would be in my salad dressing and it will be next time. I added 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire and cut the sugar to 2/3 of a cup, next time I will bring the sugar down to 1/2 a cup. I have never liked french dressing but this is amazingly good! I'm lazy so i threw my onion and garlic in a blender and chopped it up then the rest of the ingredients, except the oil and mixed until it was all liquid. Then i slowly poured in the oil. Very good stuff. Yielded just over 3 cups of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
It is good. I left out the blue cheese, because of allergies. It was delicious without it, but don't give a recipe 5 stars, unless you made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I liked it as a start for a yummy red/french dressing... but I made changes.... We will probably use half an onion next time, less sugar, add honey, and we used no blue cheese as DH doesn't care for it and our little probably wouldn't like it either. This recipe is a great jumping-off point to make to your own family's tastes. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good stuff. Scaled the recipe down to 1 serving's worth, as I only needed a little bit for another recipe, so used 1/8t onion and garlic powders. Also used honey instead of sugar and apple cider vinegar instead of white. Left out the blue cheese, since we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We love this recipe. I have altered it a little for my husband who can't eat dairy or soy and he loves it! I substituted the sugar for approximately 4 Tbsp. honey and leave out the blue cheese. I cut back the onion a quite a bit too. I put everything into the food processor which really mixes it up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I cut this recipe in half and added a bit of soy sauce instead of salt. I didn't have any lemon juice, but I will definitely try that next time. Very good, although also very strong . Use with caution
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just made this and it is so good. The juice of 3 medium lemons equals 1/2 cup. I used a metal grater and grated the onion and garlic. I didn't add the blue cheese. It's a perfect French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appagey
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States