My Grandmother's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Tasty! It's nice to be able to enjoy a creamy dressing that isn't high in fat. I don't use sugar in order to lower the calories. In its place I use a little bit of honey and the rest of the sweetness comes from stevia. It's probably not as thick as the original recipe, but the taste is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Oh My GOODNESS!! Love this dressing! I'm thinking about making several jars up and giving them out as gifts this Holiday season. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
A+++! I'm from the eastern MN/western WI area and LOVED a particular brand of French dressing that began with an "H" and was a French man's name (not sure if I can actually share it here), which is very hard-to-find and anything close to it is non-existent here in the Mesa, AZ area. This tastes almost EXACTLY like it! I love that I can tweak it so it's healthier - without all the added preservatives and sugar fillers. As per previous suggestions, I substituted Splenda for sugar (I used 2/3 c. Splenda), used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste instead of the ketchup, and omitted the blue cheese to save on cal's and my glycemic index. YUM! If you love traditional French dressing somewhere in taste between Catalina, California, and Western, THIS IS A MUST-TRY. Bonus: SO EASY TO PREPARE! Thanks for sharing, JIMBOWERS. It's definitely a permanent add-in to my recipe box, and I'm sharing with all my friends and family too =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This dressing is AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
wonderful, better than any other french dressing i've had. i did not use fresh onions or garlic though. fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This dressing was a hit! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Outstanding recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I didn't have blue cheese so I omitted it, and it was still delicious. I only added a little more than 1/3 cup sugar though. I took the advice of the other reviews and added it last so I could test how much I wanted. I also put it in my blender after added the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My hubby loved this dressing. After a few days, it seemed that the sugar in it made the dressing a little too sweet. Next time I will use a little less sugar. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States