My Grandmother's French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just made this and it is so good. The juice of 3 medium lemons equals 1/2 cup. I used a metal grater and grated the onion and garlic. I didn't add the blue cheese. It's a perfect French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appagey
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
It's best if the cheese of your choice is added to the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Outstanding French Dressing. My family loved this dressing on 'Taco Pasta Salad' from AR. In fact, I've made this 3 times now. It last in the fridge for quite a while. My guys think they don't like bleu cheese, I just don't tell them what I put in the dressing. I love making my own salad dressing, so that I know what goes it them and this recipe is definitely worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is so good. I'm not a blue cheese lover so made it without! it's great, tell your grandma thanks from my family. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Way too much vinegar. Kept adding sugar until I used about a cup full. Had to keep adding ketchup, then added mayonnaise, then half a bottle of Western Dressing before I could use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Paulson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Delicious! I have made this several times, always a hit! It will stay for a while in the fridge in a sealed container. I've never added the bleu cheese however. In my opinion it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Fantastic French dressing! This tastes amazing, and is super easy to make. Add the sugar last, so you can adjust based on your tastes. I used about 1/2 the called for amount. As previous reviewers state, this recipe makes a large portion. We scaled it down to 3 servings, and it was perfect for a dinner party of 6. Also added a few dashes of Wostershire sauce, and left out blue cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Love this dressing. I did find the garlic a little strong but I am going to let the garlic sit in the lemon juice for a few hours before mixing in the rest of the ingredients next time. Hopefully that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I threw some garlic in and it was Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Oh man! I never even liked French Dressing before this version! I made this for my boyfriend who is in LOVE with the dressing I made. I used powdered garlic and onion, used simple syrup (you can search AllRecipes for how to make that), omitted the blue cheese and the lemon - and you would be surprised how fantastic it tastes. We are never purchasing French dressing from the store AGAIN! I also used homemade ketchup in this recipe, and it made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States