My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
10:30- gathered all of my ingredients & equipment, & preheated oven. 10:40- measured out hot water, molasses & baking soda for the bottom layer. Mixed everything together & poured into pie shell. 10:45- realized the liquid layer left absolutely no room for the flour/brown sugar/shortening mixture. Proceeded anyway, thinking perhaps the flour mixture would somehow defy the laws of physics & absorb itself into the liquid without adding volume. 10:47- mistakenly thought that everything was going smoothly, until I realized I had a river of molasses seeping out of the pie shell, across my countertop, & onto the floor. 10:48- cleaned up the counter, & decided there was enough topping on the pie as it was. 10:49- carefully lifted the pie into the oven, & set the timer. 10:50- watched my beautiful pie leak out of the shell & into my oven; thanked the dear Lord that I had forgotten to remove a baking sheet on the bottom rack, which was now nearly filled with burning molasses. 11:00- decided that I needed to turn back the temperature before one of my neighbors summoned the fire department. 11:20- determined that my pie crust did not need to be baked any further; the edges were starting to resemble charcoal. Removed pie from oven. 11:21- looked up 'Kitchen Nightmares: Cleaning Scorched and Burnt Food Off Pots and Pans' on thekitchn.com. 11:25- got out the baking soda & detergent; let the pan soak until I tasted the pie. 11:30- ate 2 pieces of my delicious pie; decided to buy new pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbp002
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good recipe. I do a halfcup of molasses and a half cup of corn syrup to ensure its not overpowering. Just like grandma used to make in Central Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used an average store bought pie crust - WAY WAY too much liquid to put in that crust, and WAY too much crumbs to put on the top. It spilled all over the over the oven - everywhere. Maybe if you use a deeper pie dish it would work but it just spilled all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is the first time I've tried to make a Shoo Fly Pie and I also had way too much crumb topping. The pie is in the oven right now with a cookie sheet under to catch the overflow which I know will happen. I'm giving it a fair trial and if the flavor is good I'll just 1/2 the amount of crumb topping next time. I'm giving a 3 for now since it smells wonderful. Will update once the pie is baked. Well, the crust broke and it kind of oozed so is not very pretty...but not bad for a first try. Will make this again but make a little less filling and topping. I think eventually I will get the hang of this and so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe and the Shoofly Pie V from this site on the same day to compare. The Grandma's pie was more traditional, but I liked the Shoofly Pie V recipe better. However, since there are so many wonderful desserts out there that I love, I most likely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I live in PA and this is nothing like the Lancaster County shoofly. Where is the cake top? Why is there so much wet bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Only one problem. In the above recipe, I used a standard 9" pie shell. Goop everywhere! While adding the 'crumbs' the liquid overflowed and made a mess of the oven and floor. Please change the recipe to a 9" DEEP pie shell. It looks great and fills the shell perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sticky
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp of ground clove to the boiling water then 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and the molasses and an egg when the mixture cooled off I though it was a little too much topping ( a little dry)..but I'm just a beginner. The flavor was fantastic though. Last time I had a major leak and the wet part leaked to the pie dish. This time I cut my shorting up finer for the crust…..no leaks. Sure not pretty but taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sticky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I ended up with a mess, and a whole heap of loose sugar on top. I suggest layering crumbs and molasses. Ingredients okay,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Turned out great! I sprinkled a tiny bit of the topping in the bottom of the shell, but I didn't have to. It wasn't runny. I used just under a cup of molasses. Also substituted butter for the shortening because I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States