My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is a good recipe. My grandmother makes this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This is a good cucumber salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Similar to my mother's recipe. Not meant to be quick (not much work, but sets overnight). My mother added just a tad of sugar and instead of drying the cukes, she squeezed the water out of them and let them soak in their own juices. Then you drain most of that water off and mix w/ the cream and spices. My mother topped w/ paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
Total disappointment. The first recipe I have tried at allrecipes and been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
This is great for the summer. I added a teaspoon of lemon juice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I really like this recipe!! It was so fast and easy and everyone loved it at our dinner table. I will be using it often. Thanks Jill M. !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe but I did add some fresh dill for a little extra flavor. The drying technique was very helpful. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
I have made this before but I always soak my cucumbers and onions in salt water overnight until they are limp. The salt from the water doesn't add too much saltiness but I'd leave out the salt when mixing in the sour cream. Yes they must be very dry when mixing in the sour cream so draining them for a couple of hours after soaking is essential. The salad is very watery otherwise. I also have added a little dill when mixing in the sour cream. This seems like a lot of work but it's really not. Just some planning and a couple of minutes cutting and draining and then you let them sit in the refrigerator the rest of the time. Makes a very tasty elegant salad. I wrote the last review of this recipe almost a year ago. I've been on a quest for the perfect cucumber salad for some years before that too. This is still a DELICIOUS salad and I've been making it a lot lately because cucumbers are cheap and abundant. It's a good way to use up a lot of cucumbers. A few slices on a tossed salad just doesn't use up enough. Right now serving for serving, an all cucumber salad is cheaper than lettuce too. You might be interested to know that the salt soaking I mentioned before also seems to cut down significantly on the burping. I have since tried a scant amount of thyme instead of the dill. This is good. I've tried the paprika but I won't again. It doesn't add much to the flavor and it gives it a pinkish color I don't care for. I have however taken to mixing equal parts mayo and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is the same way my grandma made these too! We chilled the cukes until they were ice cold and crisp. I do not remember the drying process but know they were drained really good. We used reg. sour cream. We also added dill weed to this too for added flavor. It's really refreshing on summer days. Thanks Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I loved this recipe because it's the quintessential taste of summer for me. I use low fat sour cream and lots of white wine vinegar mixed in which gives it a good vinegary tang. Lots of black pepper makes it really yummy. I've been making a variation of this recipe since I was a little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States