My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The creator of this recipe stated it well when he/she said, the portions are ambigious use your eye. Here is what we did and it turned out great! Instead of 2 cups, I used 1 1/2 cups sour cream. I added a tablespoon of vinegar and a pinch of sugar. Plus, you can't forget the dill. When making this recipe, you can't expect to follow it word for word. You need to add a little and check. Is it to your liking? If so, stop. If not, add more. Like they said, that is how the best cooks do it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
love this one but of course I made a little change. I added dill. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Just OK - a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This is a nice change from the mayo version but I still prefer the mayo to sour cream. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I have been making my mom's version of this for years. So cool and light for summer. I mix in a little wine vinegar and some garlic powder to the sour cream. Gets better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Without vinegar, I found this to be very bland. Once I added it in it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I really liked this salad, though next time I will lower the onion to cucumber ratio. Guess I'm just not that much of an onion person. I ended up adding some garlic salt and Mrs. Dash for extra flavor and it went over great with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I NEEDED A VEGGIE SIDE DISH AND THE ONLY VEGATABLE I HAD ON HAND WAS CUCUMBERS SO I DECIDED ON THIS RECIPE. I DIDNT CHILL IT..JUST MIXED EVERYTHING TOGETHER AND SERVED. I WILL MAKE THIS OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
DuWayne Winters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I followed this recipe to a "T", but it was a huge disappointment. The sour cream seemed to make this salad very "wet" and without much flavor. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States