My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I liked this very much. I found it to be a welcome change from the usual vinegar flavor that so many use to cover the taste of cucumber. I did add a touch of dill. I'll make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is exactly how my mom used to make it except we would chop the onion instead of slicking it and make it "pretty" by dusting it with paprika before serving. It is cool, crunchy, and EASY to throw together. It is all about personal taste though and what you grew up with. Sometimes I just want something simple, and this does it for me :) Plus, it is a great memory of my mother! But I saw someone write that they soak the cucumbers and onions in salt water overnight until they are limp.. WHY? Why would you want it limp? I like it crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I soaked cucumbers and onions overnight in salt water....added fresh dill and when I put 3/4 of the sour cream in it was way too much...all I tasted was sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My family uses celery seed to season this recipe, but I'd like to try the dill because that sounds good too. We also squeeze the excess juice out of the cucumbers over the sink and then pat dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
A good base but lacking in flavor. I ended up adding garlic powder, celery salt and dill; then it was dee-lish! You won't like this if you're looking for a zing or tangy flavor- that's another recipe completely. Thanks for submitting it and thanks to all the other reviewers for the helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was okay, but not necessarily what I was looking for. It definitely needs something other than sour cream as a dressing. I even (at the suggestions of others) added some dried dill weed and a splash of vinegar. Not terrible, but I'm going to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
i have made many versions of this.... usually i put a tomato (diced) and use mayo.... my son loves this over white rice. i always have one of these, (mayo or sour cream) salads on hand every week. and the longer its sits the more juice comes out and just spoon it out of the rice. its great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROO911

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My MIL makes hers just like this. Husband loves it so it is in our summer side rotation to use up excess cucumbers. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Great recipe, I shredded my cukes with a grater and added a drizzle of milk because I like mine really creamy!! Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I make this salad but without the sour cream. I do like one reviewer suggested and soak in vinegar (apple cider), and after an hour or two drain out only a little of the liquid and add a tsp. of sugar, a pinch of dill, and very thin slices of red onion. My grandmother used to make a very lovely, simple salad of tomatoes for her buffet party dinners that reminds me of this. Just beautiful, ripe tomatoes (hers were home grown), sliced in 1/2" slices and staggered on an asparagus serving plate with two dollops of Hellman's (only that brand) mayonnaise on the side. Very simple but delicious and memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States