My Favorite Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
The dough came out like crumbs. I left it in the fridge hoping for a miracle but no such luck...still crumbles! Back to the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musical Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was super easy dough to work with and tasted and looked great when baked. To those of you who had trouble with the dough, all I can think of is that you either measured wrong or didn't mix the ingredients thoroughly. Shortening first, then sugar, egg, milk and dry ingred. If they baked too puffy, you rolled them out too thick! Put in freezer 30 min. These cookies were fantastic. I can't say enough good things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Wow, these were perfect! I had to use self-rising flour because that's what I had, so they were kind of puffy, but we really liked them. Easy to mix, easy to roll out, easy to cut, easy to bake! My 3-year-old LOVED making and eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I gave this a 3 because I had to tweak it a bit. I highly recommend using Blue bonnet vegetable oil spread instead of shortening. It gives it a great flavor! I also recommend using 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract. My cookies were so great! nice and fluffy. I cooked them a bit longer till the edges were golden brown when I made cookie houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Best Cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natsumi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Yummy.. My kids are very happy with this recipe. Its a keeper.. But I did double on the vanila but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommygator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is my second cookie recipe of the day. This, unfortunately, did not work for my cut outs. They spread and turned to thin pieces of cardboard. Not what I was looking for. I was however, able to make some beautiful drop cookies. I rounded a ball of dough, and flattened it against a plate of colored sugar. Then put on the sheet and baked for 10 mins. The result was a beautifully cracked color coating on top of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I did NOT like this recipe. The dough was very hard to work with, and it was difficult to cut out the cookies. I don't think the dough was ever moist enough to 'come together'. They tasted ok, but not great. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
They don't taste quite as sweet as the sugar cookies I'm used to. But they are simple and that's what I like about them. Be careful not to grease the sheet too much. Keep them thicker for softer cookies, and I only put them in for 7 minutes... 8min.... they get a bit too brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Not sure how 1 cup of egg whites would be optional! I made the recipe without the egg whites and it was impossible to mix together because there was not enough liquid ingredient. So i added half of the egg white that was supposedly optional and it was way to moist. I haven't baked them yet, but this recipe didn't make any sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States