My Favorite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Pretty good but very rich! I think if I make it again, I would try it with fresh shrimp instead of the pre-cooked. Also, I added about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the soup & it just kicked up the flavor a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Tasty, and I don't usually like seafood soups. I used fat free cream cheese, margarine and 1/2 cup of skim milk, so I think that cut down the fat quite a bit. Even with using the "lite" ingredients, it is still a VERY filling meal, to the point where I'm still feeling full over 6 hours later. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper and red wine vinegar. This is not something you'd want to make all the time, but when shrimp is on sale, make a point to do it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent soup - very easy to make and very tasty. With the butter and cream cheese it is very fattening so next time I will try it with reduced fat cream cheese and less butter and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
THIS is the BEST SOUP ever! I was almost embarrassed at how easy it was. I couldn't stop eating it as I was cooking it. My kids and husband both loved it, and I can't WAIT to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I loved this soup!!! I changed quite a bit because I have a texture issue. I did not use as much butter, did not include the corn, and this time I wasn't in the mood for seafood. I put in a few red potatoes, tons of garlic, and stirred in bacon bits and fresh ground black pepper after it was done. I willdefinately make it again and I will try seafood in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
A perfect rich & creamy soup for cold night. Would be delicious in a homemade bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I used all sorts of seafood ~ shrimp, crab, chopped scallops, and clams ~~ the result was the best seafood chowder of all time (I put in a little red wine vinegar to jazz it up because it needed something to cut the heaviness). This is the kind of recipe that you make for a gathering or luncheon....not something you'd want to feed to your family routinely ~ it's just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This receipe was simple to follow and delicious. For those that like spice add some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Rich, creamy, comforting...everything you need for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This soup is pretty good. It is easy and tastey especially if you like cream based sort of bland soups. I probably will not make it again since I am not a big fan of the creamy soups. I substituted light butter and low fat cream cheese and turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States