My Favorite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super-easy, super-tasty. If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. I made it almost exactly as written, only changing a few things: to cut down on the fat, I used 1/2 the amount of butter and reduced-fat cream cheese. Also, based on what other reviewers suggested, I added a bottle of clam juice with a can of crab meat before simmering. This was still very rich, very tasty and made plenty for our family of 4 (three of whom... the guys... are big eaters). Serve with crackers and a salad, and there's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I havenever gone wrong with this recipe and it freezes really well. Made it for the first time for a cooking club I am in and it is still a favorite. It can be tweaked many ways but is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I had high hopes for this soup because of all the reviews. I made exactly as written. I thought it tasted like canned potato soup w/shrimp & corn. Nothing special....especially with all the added calories and fat. Sorry! :( Won't make again. I even added spices, crab meat & mussels-still not worth the calories and money in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebayqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
One word...FAB-U-LOUS! My husband gave it a 10 and said it was the best soup he's had in a while! Yes it's really rich and fattening, but oh so good. I used full-lead butter, but the lower fat neufchatel cheese to cut out a little of the calories. I also used a can of sweet corn, undrained, which isn't specified one way or the other in the recipe. I ended up using 1 1/2 cups of 1% milk to get the perfect consistency for our tastes. I also cooked it a little longer than recommended after I added the shrimp as they seemed undercooked to me straight out of the bag. I wanted to taste the recipe as listed so I didn't add any seasonings until after it was in the bowl. We like a little more flavor so I would say adding some hot red pepper flakes a little sea salt and fresh ground pepper really took it over the top. This is one of those dishes you can't make too often 'cause it's not the healthiest thing you'll ever eat, but the flavor is company-worthy fantastic so we will be treating ourselves to this awesome soup as often as our waist lines will allow. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! My family loved it. I added 1 can of crab meat also and this was an excellent recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alamo, California, USA
Living In: Guerneville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The best soup ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
it was really good, just needed a bit of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I LOVE this soup and give it 5 stars for flavor and ease of preparation, but is there anyway to make it healthy without losing the flavor? This soup is delicious, but the fat and cholesterol content is frightening...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
It had been a few years since I had made this and I forgot how easy this was to make and how good it is. I sautéed regular onions in olive oil while melting the cream cheese and butter and that made it even quicker to make (I forgot to buy the green onions). I'll try it next time with crab. Everyone in the family loved it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySohalski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I cut down to 1/4 cup of butter---a little pepper--wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States