My Favorite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Yummy - but SO rich! Next time around I'm trying it with neufchatel cheese for slightly lower fat. It definitely needs a good shot of Old Bay seasoning as well, to add a little kick. I think it would be good with any type of seafood. This soup is pretty much a meal in itself, and I love that it's fairly easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This soup hits the spot on a cold winter day. I LOVE it. I cut the butter to 1/4 c and use 4 oz half-fat cream cheese. I also like to add a variety of seafood as others have mentioned- clams, crab, scallops- but it is perfectly fine just as written. Tastes much more elegant than one would think. No one can tell it is canned soup and I don't tell either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Nice flavour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is the best soup...fattening but I only make it a couple of times during the winter. This is my favorite soup recipe. It is a shrimp soup, not a crab soup, so I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheepdog70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is by far the BEST chowder ever!! I used cream of shrimp soup instead of potato and OMG... amazing ! If you want a little more seafood flavor add a can of clams and a bit of imitation crab and you have a fantastic meal. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
So yummy. I made a few Cajun girl adjustments and was super pleased! I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Honestly, it just wasn't for me. It seemed to be missing something. It was at least worth trying though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
THE BOMB.COM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I had leftover corn on the cob and decided to search for a corn chowder recipe using the ingredients "corn and shrimp" and came across this one on allrecipes. I made it for my husband and father-in-law for lunch to rave reviews. I lost count of how many times I heard "this is REALLY good!" Since I did not have condensed potoato soup, I just used 4 diced and boiled potatoes in water in it's place. I also replaced the cream cheese with neuchatel cheese, added a can of undrained clams, more corn and more milk since I like it a bit thinner. I topped the soup with crumbled bacon and green onion and had crushed red pepper on the table for those who like it hotter. Definitely going in my top rated keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcpoindexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
WOW thats all i can say! It is now my Favorite Soup mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States