My Favorite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made a few low-fat changes to this recipe and they worked well. I substituted the cream cheese with fat-free neufchatel and in lieu of cream of potato soup I used fat free cream of mushroom. I took the suggestion of adding a variety of seafood. Easy, guilt-free and delicious. Doesn't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
You can kiss your diet goodbye with this rich and intoxicating soup (definition = "fattening as all heck but oh so good!). Even as your making this, melting the butter and cream cheese - your thinking "I'm gonna die from clogging my arteries" but after you taste it - you don't give a darn! If you like clam chowders and are willing to splurge for a night, I'd say make this EASY & Quick (did I mention delicious?) soup!! It literally took me 25 min from start to finish!! Oh- in addition to the shrimp, I added a can of drained clams and added the milk to our preferred consistency! Thanks Suzanne for this great recipe - and for temporarily increasing my dress size!! (one situp, errr...two situps...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
This is a delicious soup! I used Green Giant Niblet corn...it's better than regular corn...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I've made this soup atleast 20 times now. I purposely waited to rate this.. this is a perfect simple recipe everyone asks for it but I act like its a secret. The key is getting the cream cheese melted, I use sweet corn and if you can cut some off a cob even better. And I use 1 can of cream of celery instead..that seems to make it better..if thats possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilpenguinmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
This is wonderful! I added a can, juice and all of baby clams and a can of lump crab meat. It was fabulous. It is easy and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super-easy, super-tasty. If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. I made it almost exactly as written, only changing a few things: to cut down on the fat, I used 1/2 the amount of butter and reduced-fat cream cheese. Also, based on what other reviewers suggested, I added a bottle of clam juice with a can of crab meat before simmering. This was still very rich, very tasty and made plenty for our family of 4 (three of whom... the guys... are big eaters). Serve with crackers and a salad, and there's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
One word...FAB-U-LOUS! My husband gave it a 10 and said it was the best soup he's had in a while! Yes it's really rich and fattening, but oh so good. I used full-lead butter, but the lower fat neufchatel cheese to cut out a little of the calories. I also used a can of sweet corn, undrained, which isn't specified one way or the other in the recipe. I ended up using 1 1/2 cups of 1% milk to get the perfect consistency for our tastes. I also cooked it a little longer than recommended after I added the shrimp as they seemed undercooked to me straight out of the bag. I wanted to taste the recipe as listed so I didn't add any seasonings until after it was in the bowl. We like a little more flavor so I would say adding some hot red pepper flakes a little sea salt and fresh ground pepper really took it over the top. This is one of those dishes you can't make too often 'cause it's not the healthiest thing you'll ever eat, but the flavor is company-worthy fantastic so we will be treating ourselves to this awesome soup as often as our waist lines will allow. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very good soup! It seemed a bit thick, so I added a 6 oz bottle of clam juice, and about a cup of 2% milk. Also added about a tablespoon of Tony Cachere's Creole Seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RNC11254
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Delicious and really simple. I have made this soup several times and it has quickly become one of our favorites. Only had 1 can of potato soup so used a can of cream of mushroom soup, which added a nice little twist. Makes a great base for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I knew that I would probably like this soup, but it was actually much better than I expected and I ended up loving it! I used cream cheese w/ chives & onion and ommitted the actual green onion just to save myself some time, and I think I ended up adding about a full cup of milk as well as some black pepper. Next time I'm going to add some sea scallops along with the shrimp. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States