My Favorite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Tasty, and I don't usually like seafood soups. I used fat free cream cheese, margarine and 1/2 cup of skim milk, so I think that cut down the fat quite a bit. Even with using the "lite" ingredients, it is still a VERY filling meal, to the point where I'm still feeling full over 6 hours later. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper and red wine vinegar. This is not something you'd want to make all the time, but when shrimp is on sale, make a point to do it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent soup - very easy to make and very tasty. With the butter and cream cheese it is very fattening so next time I will try it with reduced fat cream cheese and less butter and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
THIS is the BEST SOUP ever! I was almost embarrassed at how easy it was. I couldn't stop eating it as I was cooking it. My kids and husband both loved it, and I can't WAIT to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I loved this soup!!! I changed quite a bit because I have a texture issue. I did not use as much butter, did not include the corn, and this time I wasn't in the mood for seafood. I put in a few red potatoes, tons of garlic, and stirred in bacon bits and fresh ground black pepper after it was done. I willdefinately make it again and I will try seafood in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
A perfect rich & creamy soup for cold night. Would be delicious in a homemade bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I used all sorts of seafood ~ shrimp, crab, chopped scallops, and clams ~~ the result was the best seafood chowder of all time (I put in a little red wine vinegar to jazz it up because it needed something to cut the heaviness). This is the kind of recipe that you make for a gathering or luncheon....not something you'd want to feed to your family routinely ~ it's just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This receipe was simple to follow and delicious. For those that like spice add some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Rich, creamy, comforting...everything you need for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This soup is pretty good. It is easy and tastey especially if you like cream based sort of bland soups. I probably will not make it again since I am not a big fan of the creamy soups. I substituted light butter and low fat cream cheese and turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
You can kiss your diet goodbye with this rich and intoxicating soup (definition = "fattening as all heck but oh so good!). Even as your making this, melting the butter and cream cheese - your thinking "I'm gonna die from clogging my arteries" but after you taste it - you don't give a darn! If you like clam chowders and are willing to splurge for a night, I'd say make this EASY & Quick (did I mention delicious?) soup!! It literally took me 25 min from start to finish!! Oh- in addition to the shrimp, I added a can of drained clams and added the milk to our preferred consistency! Thanks Suzanne for this great recipe - and for temporarily increasing my dress size!! (one situp, errr...two situps...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States