My Favorite Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made this once as is...it was fantastic. The next time I used whole wheat noodles. I also used fresh ginger, toasted white and black seeds and tossed them in and then added snow peas, broccoli, red and yellow pepper (chopped fine), ground bhut jolokia powder (I like things super hot) and chopped broccoli. Let it site for 24 hours and then ate it. It was great. I think it needs a little lime juice or balsamic vinegar but even without it....this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
If you like Thai noodles you will love this! I use LoMein noodles instead of spaghetti, and add in mushrooms and sauteed chicken tenders to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made the recipe as written first, and it had a good flavor, but it was missing something. The second time, I used soba noodles instead of spaghetti, added stir fry vegetables & thinly sliced chicken. It was phenomenal! This is a good base recipe, but I recommend adding meat and/or veggies to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very easy and yummy. I added chicken and served it warm. I did find it a little salty so I will use less soya sauce next time and more chili sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe that tweaks well. I made a few changes just because of what I had on hand, white sugar instead of honey and bean paste instead of chili sauce. I also used soba noodles and added a splash of rice wine vinegar for personal taste. This recipe is great as is, and easily adjusted if you like it sweater, not as sweet, drier, or whatever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfect as-is. Awesome side-dish for the 'Baked Teriyaki Chicken' found on this site. Doubling the recipe gives you the perfect amount of sauce for 1 full pkg of shanghai noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I loved this! I'm taking it to an Asian inspired potluck so I doubled the recipe. I ended up doubling the sauce PLUS doing another half recipe of the sauce to get the noodles coated like I wanted it. This may be because I used a thin whole wheat pasta (which was delicious in this!) and it soaked up more sauce. I basically followed the recipe exactly using fresh ginger and toasted sesame seeds on the top. I did use half honey and half agave because I ran out of honey and forgot the garlic. My Thai sauce had a bit of a bite to it so it wasn't missed. This was awesome! The last thing I did was add a half a chopped orange bell pepper and almost two cups of sliced shitake mushrooms for a few veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe, very flavorful made exactly as written. One question for author: Is this meant to eat cold or warm? I notice your review says to refrigerate a couple of hours while the original recipe as written by AR does not include that step. After refrigerating, do you reheat? TIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for!!! The perfect mix of all those good Asian flavors. The only thing I would do differently is to toast the sesame seeds first. Oh.....and I added 1/4 t. of togarashi. yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I loved the smell and the flavor of these noodles. They went really well with my teriyaki chicken. I didn't put seeds since I didn't have any and I used 1/4 tsp of chili paste instead of the chili sauce (to avoid white sugar). I refregerated the noodles overnight. I wasn't too excited about the texture of the noodles, even though I made sure to cook them al dente. My son and I who can sense spices really well thought that the noodles were a tad too spicy while my husband couldn't detect the spiciness at all. I will be making these again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Lo Mein Noodles

A quick and easy Asian-inspired noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States