My Favorite Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I am the recipe submitter and I just wanted to clarify some things that seem to be a tad different from what I submitted. I use the sweet red thai chili sauce in my version as well as fresh grated ginger (not dried ground). Also, it's really an integral step, is to let everything sit refrigerated for a couple of hours before eating - this is really an important step that you won't regret. I wanted to mention that one review indicated that tamari is actually just soy sauce and I want to clarify. Although tamari is a type of soy, it is not the same as regular old soy sauce. The tamari adds a much deeper, richer, more authentic flavor to the noodles. The only other thing worth mentioning is that I toast my sesame seeds - I love them this way! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Loved this recipe and would definately make it again... but had a little difficulty with the ingredient list. After spending way too much time searching the isles of the local Asian market, (and then finally giving up and going on-line) - I learned that tamari is soy sauce. Also, the recipe reads 1/2 (8oz) package of spaghetti - I think it should read just 8oz of spaghetti. But otherwise a really great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I'm kind of tough to please, which is why I'm giving this recipe only four stars (I'd give it 4.5 if I could). This was very easy to make, and I think I could probably eat it just about every day, which says a lot for me. Next time I'd probably add a little more chili sauce to give it more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
As written this is a four star recipe, but with some simple changes/additions this can be a five star recipe. Instead of spaghetti I used soba (buckwheat) noodles from the Asian section of my grocery store. I served this with baked tofu (you can buy packages of seasoned baked tofu at the health food store), sauteed shitake mushrooms, and steamed broccoli on top. That made it a complete Japanese style vegetarian meal. I also served a cucumber salad on the side made with seasoned rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I liked these a lot. I used 16 oz. of whole wheat spaghetti, doubled the sauce, and added steamed carrots and broccoli. I used a little bit of peanut oil and sesame chili oil, toasted the sesame seeds, and let it all sit in the fridge for two hours before I ate it. I have had tons of leftovers to take for lunches from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
At first it was just alright but had it again the next day and thought--hey, this is pretty good! I warmed it up in the microwave a bit which I thought made it taste better. My 13 month old enjoyed eating this so I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used fresh ground ginger like the poster suggested and spicy chili paste and a mixture of one tablespoon soy sauce and one of hoison. I also used whole wheat linguni noodles and omitted the sesame seeds. Oh and crunchy peanut butter. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yum! This was a littel on the sweet and thick side for me, but the flavor was fantastic. I cut the sweetness with a couple splashes of rice vinegar and served this on Napa cabbage. Very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very tasty, the only thing I'd do different is to stir-fry the cooked pasta before mixing in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcclain22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Wonderful flavor!!! (a bit dry though) Will definitely be making this again, but will double the sauce. Nicely done, kelcampbell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States